Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
summerteeth

Aldi's Products

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I finally got an email back from Aldi about the labeling on some of the products I either have purchased or have been interested in purchasing, but did not know if they were safe. Anyone else find it odd that mayonnaise is not safe?

Dear Monica,

Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding whether our products are gluten free or contain allergens. At this time, we do not have a published list of such items, but have contacted the supplier(s) on your behalf to retrieve the most current information.

The following list reflects our findings for your records.

Product Gluten-Free (Yes/No) Allergen Comments

Casa Mamita Mild and Mediums Salsa Yes

Roseland Italian Sausage & Brats Yes

Kyder Tomato Ketchup Yes

Briargate Mustard Yes

Fit & Active Mayonnaise No

Briargate Kansas City BBQ Sauce No

Rodeo Bill Kettle Chips Yes

Clancy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Never heard of a mayo that's not gluten-free. I wonder what the ingredients are.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do not find it odd. It says 'fit and active' which makes me think they are cutting out the fat so they have to replace it with something.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use their regular mayonnaise with no problems. I don't buy any product that is low fat. First of all our bodies need healthy dietary fat for our muscles like our heart and for brain power. Secondly, as the PP pointed out when fat is reduced, it's usually replaced with sugar and/or gluten. I do not need either one of those!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is some old info. out there that vinegar is not gluten-free, maybe they are going by that. There are also some mayos from oversees that contain malt vinegar.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ingredients in Light & Fit Mayo

water

soybean oil

modified food starch

egg yolks

distilled and cider vinegar

HFCS

salt

sugar

lemon juice

spice

xanthan gum

potassium sorbate

DL alpha tocopherol acetate (vitamin e) <---- ???

beta carotene

natural flavors

contains: egg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

only the whipped salad dressing at aldis is safe- aldis puts if its gluten free on the package. all you have to do is look on the back and it will say this products is naturally gluten free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The info on this thread is 2 years old which can make it ancient history in grocery store time! Re- check for the most current info & always check the ingredients. You never know when some food company will think it's a swell idea to add gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×