StacyA

Gastrointestinal Yeast Questions

Rate this topic

I'm new to gluten-free, and even had to go back on gluten for 3 weeks for my biopsy, so I know that it'll take time for my GI sxs to clear - however my villous damage was only 'mild' and I'm experiencing a lot of intestinal gurgling and mucous in my stool and I've started to wonder about yeast (I searched through old posts about my symptoms). I think an intestinal parasite 'woke up' my celiac's this summer. To get rid of the parasite I was on flagyll three months ago - and in response I developed thrush and a vaginal yeast infection. I got prescription lozenges for the thrush and OTC cream for the vaginal yeast infection - but I'm realizing those were both topical treatments - could I still be out of whack yeast-wise in my GI system or is it more stable than the other two areas? When I was diagnosed my GI gave me some probiotic samples, but I didn't buy any more, and I know the yogurts aren't very strong. Any input?

I've been on Cipro for 6 months now and I'm starting to believe I may have intestinal yeast issues.

I'm going to start taking Candex and I've already seen improvements with the probiotic PB8 . It's the first probiotic that has worked for me. Try those two things and let us know how you feel and I'll do the same.