This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Endo/colo Of 8 Year Old In 3 Days

Karas mom

Karas mom Newbie

Hi,

This is my first time to post and I hope this works.

I'm looking for some emotional support regarding my daughter's endoscopy and colonoscopy in the next few days.

My daughter is 8 years old. She has dental enamal defects on her permanent front teeth (discoloration and mottling) and her 6 year molars are also defective and are chipping away. She was not ill in the first year of her life, I never took any medications during pregnancy, and I have never taken Tetracycline. She has had intestinal problems off and on for years (cramping, gas, loose stools). Her celiac panel was negatine except that her total IgA was 31 (normal 33-236) and her IgG was 80 (normal 0-15). Her iron/plasma was 45 (normal 50-120) with MCV and MCH also lower than normal. Her absolute eosinophil count was .24 (normal .01-.19) She had a barium study which did not indicate any IBS. She has sleep problems and very obvious mood swings with irritablity. She seems to have a lactose intollerance.

Any feedback before the endoscopy/colonoscopy? I am fearful that her Peds GI will not see any Villi damage and therefore discount all of the other indications/problems that we are having. Any suggestions?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

luvthelake21 Rookie