Rate this topic

Hello everyone, I am a brand new member here and I am in need of help. I had food allergy testing done over 2 years ago. I kept calling to get results, only to be told the allergist was no longer with the clinic, and my results were "fine". I pushed it but got nothing. Asked for the lab results to be sent to me, as I am a nurse, and they said it is not their policy.

Fast forward. I got a very high CRP (showing a huge amount of generalized inflammation) result on recent lab tests, (9.2), and have extreme joint pain, and unbelievable ab pain and nausea. My GP talked with me and sent for the "mysterious" lab results from the allergist's office. Guess what, the IGA and " antigen tests" came out "positive"for wheat/rye/barley sensitivity (gluten), he says. My GP immediately had me stop all gluten. In 5 days my stomach seems almost normal. My joint pain is still present but NOT to the severity it was ! He wants me to see a gastroenterologist to check for sm. intestinal damage. Thinks it is extremely likely I have celiac. Both my grown daughters have huge problems with wheat/gluten. I am also a type 1 diabetic and have Addison's disease(, have only a piece of one adrenal gland remaining after surgery) . Yea, something else to have to control !!!! I am 55 years old and have tight control of my diabetes, and usually know how to manage the Addison's (adrenal insufficiency). I have limited insurance, so I am wondering (I had a endoscopy 3 years ago), with a report of ulcers, inflammation, etc. Gastro guy never said a thing about food allergies. They always blame everything on the diabetes....and never look further.

Any suggestions? I am a little angry right now, that I suffered needlessly for years......

Thanks for any help!