Stella3

Thanksgiving Turkey?

Rate this topic

I am very new to the gluten-free lifestyle and this will be my first gluten-free Thanksgiving, im a little scared. I have been avoiding alot of meat in my diet, just because it is hard for me to find poultry and such that has not been injected with gluten containing broth. I know that the glutenated broth is especially put into whole chickens and turkeys. I was wondering if anyone knew of any stores or brands that have gluten free turkeys. Any suggestions on what do you do for your thanksgiving turkey would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

I usually buy an organic one that has no broth added. One thing you might want to do is write down the names of a few turkeys that are available at your local grocers along with a phone number or look them up on the web. Then call or email and ask the companies. Many will be safe but it is wise to check as not all are.

I just went to the Jennie O Turkey Website and this is what they had listed as Gluten Free Products

Jennie-O Turkey Store

I am very new to the gluten-free lifestyle and this will be my first gluten-free Thanksgiving, im a little scared. I have been avoiding alot of meat in my diet, just because it is hard for me to find poultry and such that has not been injected with gluten containing broth. I know that the glutenated broth is especially put into whole chickens and turkeys. I was wondering if anyone knew of any stores or brands that have gluten free turkeys. Any suggestions on what do you do for your thanksgiving turkey would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Sorry, but you are mistaken. In the U.S., the broth or flavorings you see in poultry either never or almost never contain gluten. Just because it says broth doesn't mean it has gluten. Usually the broth is from rosemary or just from the meat itself. The USDA requires that any grain added to a meat be listed, and this includes barley. The allergen law, of course, requires that wheat be listed.