dcrobinett

Celiac Mom With A 7-month-old

Rate this topic

I have DH and was diagnosed just over a year ago (while pregnant with my daughter) so I am still learning about eating gluten-free and still accidentally glutenating myself every now and then, especially since giving birth. I breastfeed my baby and I've read that gluten is passed through breastmilk. As far as I can tell, DD hasn't reacted. I've seen some tiny suspicious bumps behind her ears with a couple of big red bumps on her legs (could've been bug bites). They don't look anything like my DH bumps (blisters, scabbing, etc) but I am not sure if they would manifest differently on a baby. She doesn't seem to have any tummy issues. She isn't fussy, passes gas happily, and her bowel movements look pretty normal with an occasional hard stool which seems related to when I forget to give her water with her solids and when I don't give her enough green veggies. One other thing that I could point to as a possible sign is that at her 6 months check-up, her growth seems to have slowed down a bit by dropping down in the percentiles even though the pediatrician wasn't concerned.

Anyway, my question is this: If gluten is passed through breastmilk and DD hasn't reacted, should I try giving her gluten (oatmeal cereal or Cheerios) to see if she reacts? I think I read an article somewhere about babies being introduced to gluten at 6 months and not developing celiac and at 8 months old which led to celiac - or something like that. My pediatrician wants me to give DD gluten now, before 8 months, and I disagreed but now...I'm wondering if I should.

My original plan was to keep her gluten free until she could talk and tell me if she has tummy troubles or itchy skin (I don't want to try and figure out what's happening when she's unable to communicate right now!) but if I give her gluten now and find that she is reacting to it, then I would just be back to my original plan to keep her gluten-free anyway.