Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
mamaw

Delight gluten-free Magazine Alert!

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I just wanted to alert everyone of a mistake in the Texas Bean Soup Recipe In A Jar. Do NOT put barley pearls in the jar! Barley of course is NOT gluten-free

The owner of the magazine has been notified & action is being taken & the person who added this recipe has been fired.

Please spread the word to all about this mistake. I'm sure seasoned celiac people would know not to add barley but for newbies this could prove to be a diaster....

thanks

mamaw

This magazine has great potential but we all must understand it is in its first year & has some growing pains to iron out.......

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yikes, good catch. I just got mine and haven't had a chance to read it yet. I actually wrote to Delight after their last issue, because from cover to cover, including the front cover, there were grammatical errors on every page. It was distracting to me, and I implored them to pay more attention to the grammar, because what they're saying is good. It's the same thing I tell my students: good grammar ensures that good ideas come through, but bad grammar makes it look like you don't care. I'm eager to see if the copy editor stepped it up this time, because I like this magazine and want to see it do well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are some grammatical errors in this issue, but I wouldn't say they are on every page. I always notice those too.

It's pretty scary about the barley inclusion. It's good to see they are stepping up and addressing the issue. It's a beautiful magazine. I really hope they can make a go if it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
There are some grammatical errors in this issue, but I wouldn't say they are on every page. I always notice those too.

It's pretty scary about the barley inclusion. It's good to see they are stepping up and addressing the issue. It's a beautiful magazine. I really hope they can make a go if it.

The last issue was really bad. They were on every page that didn't have an advertisement. Even the small things, like "alright" (incorrect) instead of "all right" (correct) still count as errors. That's what having been an editor once and a professor now will do to you, I suppose. But I'm a fan of the magazine, it's probably my favorite one, and I'm not going to unsubscribe over something like that. Their content is good, and I'm hoping they just needed to be gently nudged in the direction of Garner's "Modern American Usage" to tighten up the editing a little. (No, I didn't actually suggest a book. I'm not THAT cranky!)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I just wanted to alert everyone of a mistake in the Texas Bean Soup Recipe In A Jar. Do NOT put barley pearls in the jar! Barley of course is NOT gluten-free

The owner of the magazine has been notified & action is being taken & the person who added this recipe has been fired.

Please spread the word to all about this mistake. I'm sure seasoned celiac people would know not to add barley but for newbies this could prove to be a diaster....

thanks

mamaw

This magazine has great potential but we all must understand it is in its first year & has some growing pains to iron out.......

I have never heard of this magazine but was struck by the fact that the person responsible was supposedly fired? :huh: I could see if they made more than a couple of errors at their job but if this was a one time incident, I don't think it warrants being fired from your job. The worst that will happen is a Celiac is going to get sick for a couple of days and that is truly regrettable but most Celiacs are going to get sick from time to time, unless they live in a glass bubble and never leave their homes. I wouldn't call it a disaster. The very few times I have been accidentally glutened, I got sick but it doesn't last and life goes on.

I also think that most intelligent newbies would pick up on that. After all, it's in big letters everywhere in regards to celiac that it's wheat, barley and rye that you cannot have.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When this came up on Delphi yesterday (the post has since been deleted, but I happened to make a copy of it), someone that works for the magazine stated that:

it happened because a designer added in her own recipe after the article content had gone through proofing. She has been terminated from the Delight Staff.

I don't know much about magazine publication, but that sounds like a failure in the process. If I were the one publishing the magazine, I don't think I would have kept her around either. I think they did the right thing. Having been a newbie once upon a time, I think I might have been confused about what I could and could not eat if I saw barley as an ingredient in a recipe printed in a gluten-free magazine.

I think the magazine is great, and I will continue to support them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
When this came up on Delphi yesterday (the post has since been deleted, but I happened to make a copy of it), someone that works for the magazine stated that:

I don't know much about magazine publication, but that sounds like a failure in the process. If I were the one publishing the magazine, I don't think I would have kept her around either. I think they did the right thing. Having been a newbie once upon a time, I think I might have been confused about what I could and could not eat if I saw barley as an ingredient in a recipe printed in a gluten-free magazine.

I think the magazine is great, and I will continue to support them.

If the employee had actually done that, added a recipe in after everything had gone through proofing, that's a different matter entirely. That's a no-no, for sure.

I would agree with the firing then......it was warranted. That would be comparable to changing info on a drug script, after a doctor had signed off on it. :o

As for being a newbie and the resulting confusion, my rule of thumb is to not doubt myself. If I saw barley listed as an ingredient, I would definitely question the publication with the right people before ever cooking or eating anything like that. It shouldn't matter what the recipe calls for, if there is a questionable ingredient

in there, do the research before eating. Wheat, barley and rye are pretty straight forward. I would think the more obscure ingredients that may contain a gluten component would be the ones to trip people up. Those can be downright annoying.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×