This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Free Foods

CecilyF

CecilyF Rookie

Can anybody give me a starting list of staples to stock my pantry and fridge with? I'm so overwhelmed I do not even know where to start.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

ciavyn Contributor

Hi CecilyF!

I feel your pain, as I'm new to this as well. Just my advice as a newbie who's been doing this for several weeks...stock it with basic whole foods for now...meats (if you eat them), beans, rice, veggies, fruit. As you go, you may discover additional food issues (I can't have dairy or nuts now) which makes things a bit more complicated. It gets better, I swear it does! But it can be a bit daunting. However, I've been doing amazing things with some basic cookbooks (5 ingredients or less, and I modify according to my needs) that use simple ingredients and very little processed foods. For now, until my system heals, it's working pretty well, and I feel MUCH better.

Take it slowly, and don't lose hope - you'll get the hang of it. I'm in the same boat, but have realized there are so many possibilities open to me now, where before I would avoid them and eat junk because it was fast and easy. Now I can eat real food and still prepare it quickly. I just have to plan ahead. You can do it!

CecilyF Rookie

Thank you so much! I know I can do this - I have got to do this. Just dreading shopping, reading labels and cooking. Got to look at this as one of life's adventures! :D

ravenwoodglass Mentor