Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
kimis

Bailey's Irish Cream....gluten Free?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Is Bailey's Irish Cream gluten free? They don't list ingredients on the bottle or the website, and I e-mailed them...but they havn't gotten back to me yet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Is Bailey's Irish Cream gluten free? They don't list ingredients on the bottle or the website, and I e-mailed them...but they havn't gotten back to me yet.

I would like the definitive answer to this myself! :lol: I have read that it is and that it isn't so have not had any for at least 3 years now. I love Bailey's too!

Recently I read on another website regarding Celiac that all distilled, grain based liquor is gluten-free, unless flavorings are added post-distillation. However, some Celiacs claim they have reactions so I am unsure enough about it that I don't drink it. It's one of the few items I just haven't been able to confirm status on. I would hate to buy a bottle and then have a problem with it as it's not cheap booze! I guess you could try it and see what happens? :o

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They say it's gluten free, but I react to it :blink:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They used to have the CYA message on their website that they could not guarantee it was G/L but stated the distilling theory.

I've had it in the past and felt fine.

But everyone is different.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is the statement from the website:

Gluten:

Please be advised that the whiskey used in Baileys Irish cream is manufactured by fermenting grain which contains Gluten. Due to the presence of gluten in the whiskey components before distillation we cannot absolutely guarantee that there are no effects to coeliacs. As we are not qualified to give medical advice persons requiring a gluten-free diet should consult their medical adviser before consuming Baileys Irish cream.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Taken from the Coeliac Society of Ireland's Christmas Goodie list 2009.

.

Extract shown for drinks only:

.

(in line with the new revised Codex Standard)

Comprehensive list of additions/deletions to the 2009 Food List can be found on www.coeliac.ie

A SELECTION OF FOODS & DRINKS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm going to buy a bottle for Christmas Eve, and if you don't here from me on Christmas....it's no good

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was wondering this myself as I was at an Xmas party recently and said no thanks because I wasn't sure. Now I shall try it over the holidays and see how it goes :) Thanks for posting!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The distillation process gets rid of gluten in spirits.

Your reaction could be to the cream, perhaps a lactose sensitivity?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just make your own, it's easy. Do a search and you'll find lots of recipe to make it at home. Then just use whiskey that you know you can tolerate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The distillation process gets rid of gluten in spirits.

Your reaction could be to the cream, perhaps a lactose sensitivity?

There are some of us who do react to distilled grains. I am one of them. The symptoms I get are definately gluten symptoms including a DH outbreak. Most will tolerate distilled grains but there are a few of us who will have problems.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know a number of people with celiac who drink Baileys.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've never had a reaction to any spirits. I make what I call mudslides with Irish Cream liqueur (too cheap to buy Bailey's, use Brendan's or Starbucks), coffee liqueur (too cheap to buy Kalua, use Copa de Ora or Starbucks), milk and a little Vodka, on ice of course.

I believe it's all gluten-free.

best regards, lm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know this is an old thread but I wanted to share info from a site my wife found. This is a letter the author says came from a Bailey's rep. I can't be sure of it's authenticity, so as with anything take it with a grain of salt. (Although salt goes better with Tequila.) :)

http://www.glutenfreedrinks.com/AlcoholBeverages_Baileys.htm

After retracting the initial response I received from Baileys corporate, here is the final word I received on Baileys (much to the joy of my recipe list).

March 23, 2006

Dear Mr. Mike M,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding glutens in beverage alcohol products, specifically Baileys.

In regards to your e-mail, please be advised that we have received an update from our labs that have just now confirmed that Baileys is actually Gluten Free. We don't have any details of the process and recipe available to the public due to the standard confidentiality of all brands for their recipes, however we can now guarantee this product to be gluten free. Of course, as this relates to a medical condition, may we suggest that you consult your own physician concerning the consumption of beverage alcohol products.

Once again, thank you for contacting us, and we hope the information provided has been helpful.

Sincerely,

Brian H.

Baileys

Consumer Representative

Matt B

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good news and so timely! :lol:

Thank you for sharing the news.

Lilith

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I contacted Bailey's and they told me:

"Please be advised that the whiskey used in Baileys is manufactured by fermenting grain, which contains gluten. Due to the distillation process the glutens are generally removed from the finished product.

I then asked about the caramel used and this was the response:

"There are many other ingredients in Baileys (such as caramel), apart from the whiskey. Recently Baileys Original, Caramel, and Mint Chocolate have been tested and found to contain less than 5 ppm (parts per million) of glutens.

As we are not qualified to give medical advice with regards to a gluten free diet, we ask that you please consult with your medical adviser before consuming Baileys, as each person may have a different sensitivity."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In my personal experience distilling doesn't remove gluten.  Vinegar is also distilled yet if it doesn't state that it's gluten free, I react to it.  Even pickles make me sick if they vinegar isn't distilled from corn.  So I would be leery of any site that says distilling removes the gluten.

 

I love Baileys so I so wish it was true for me and I could drink it.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In my personal experience distilling doesn't remove gluten. Vinegar is also distilled yet if it doesn't state that it's gluten free, I react to it. Even pickles make me sick if they vinegar isn't distilled from corn. So I would be leery of any site that says distilling removes the gluten.

I love Baileys so I so wish it was true for me and I could drink it.

I and other Celiacs drink distilled alcohol with no issues. Same with pickles ( eat pickles, not drink them)

This has a nice explanation of how distillation works. Go down to number 2.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/23350/1/Common-Misunderstandings-of-Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In my personal experience distilling doesn't remove gluten.  Vinegar is also distilled yet if it doesn't state that it's gluten free, I react to it.  Even pickles make me sick if they vinegar isn't distilled from corn.  So I would be leery of any site that says distilling removes the gluten.

 

I love Baileys so I so wish it was true for me and I could drink it.  

 

You may get sick from these things, but it is not gluten causing it, hon.

 

I drink Bailey's and eat pickles and vinegar (not malt, of course) and I am fine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I too enjoy many things with distilled vinegar, especially my homemade pickles. I've never gotten sick from vinegar or anything made with it. Sadly, I don't drink alcohol, but I do cook with it and have used distilled spirits and never had a problem. Most notably, the bottle of triple distilled vodka made from wheat I currently have. (I've very sadly never found a recipe that interests me that uses Baily's, one of my favorite flavors!)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I drink bailey's and don't have any issues.  For those who do, what are you mixing with it, if anything?  I did mix it with Hot Chocolate and determined it was the hot chocolate that was the issue not the bailey's.  Once I switched brands of hot chocolate to make absolutely sure it was gluten free, I was fine. 

 

As for pickles, I don't eat pickles or relish for other reasons.  I have an allergy to mustard and all pickles and relish seem to contain mustard.  The mustard allergy is sometimes more frustrating than being gluten free, as food manufactuerers often are not required to list mustard as an ingredient.  I am very leary of anything that says "spices or natural spices" as this often means mustard. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×