G-freegal12

Gingerbread Cookie House?

Rate this topic

My family and I used to buy storebought gingerbread houses. I now need to make a gluten free version. :lol:

Do you have a Betty Crocker cookbook? I use the gingerbread cookie recipe from there and just substitute gluten-free flour. Make sure there is plenty of xanthan gum in it and it mixes up nicely. I've been doing this for 7-8 years and it works great. I got the dimensions for the house online. The trickiest part is cutting the raw cookie dough into the right sized pieces. You might need to trim a bit after baking.

A trick I use to keep the house together is to cut cereal boxes into the same sizes and shapes and then frost the cookie pieces to them. Then assemble the house. It makes the house stay together nicely with no sagging roof.

Good luck!

:( Lonewolf, I don't exactly have a gingerbread house recipie. :unsure: Before I had ceiliac, we would just buy a premade house and assemble it... :ph34r:

My family and I used to buy storebought gingerbread houses. I now need to make a gluten free version. :lol:

This is my gingerbread men recipe that has been converted to gluten free. I haven't tried to make a house with the gluten free version, but always used this recipe to make a house with. I would make a double recipe. One recipe would make the house (I rolled it much thicker than for the boy cutout and baked it for double the time. Do keep an eye on them, especially the smaller bits they may need to come out earlier.)

Gingerbread Boys

Dry Ingredients

2 1/2 cups white rice flour

1/2 cup cornstarch

1/4 cup sweet rice flour

1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 1/2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground cloves

1/2 teaspoon salt

Wet Ingredients

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

1 large egg

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

1/3 cup molasses

1. In a medium medium mixing bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. Set aside.