Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I've been gluten free for about 9 months and doing pretty good. I've been told that wheat and barely grasses should be free of gluten protiens. But I don't know. I used a supplement that had those items in it and I'm feeling mild glutening symptoms. Are these grasses always gluten free?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yes, we all have heard that wheat & barley grass are gluten-free due to the stabiling process. But being an old timer celiac I would not use either of these two products.....I have switched my products to ones that do not contain these grasses.

hth

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
yes, we all have heard that wheat & barley grass are gluten-free due to the stabiling process. But being an old timer celiac I would not use either of these two products.....I have switched my products to ones that do not contain these grasses.

hth

I had been avoiding them,but I kept hearing that sprouted grasses should be safe and decided to give them a try. If sprouted grasses also make people sick; what about the sprouted breads?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I had been avoiding them,but I kept hearing that sprouted grasses should be safe and decided to give them a try. If sprouted grasses also make people sick; what about the sprouted breads?

Both would make me sick.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's a good response to that question for wheat: Is there gluten in wheatgrass?

The simple answer is the grass is gluten-free, but if you get a seed then you will get gluten. The same is true for barley.

I wouldn't risk it for myself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×