Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Here I thought drinking rice milk that i finally could drink something for my calcium intake..bought Dream Rice...but I think it has gluten..the way my belly feels its telling me it doesn't feel good at all....

anyone what can i drink that is lactose,soy and gluten free.....help

Diva :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here I thought drinking rice milk that i finally could drink something for my calcium intake..bought Dream Rice...but I think it has gluten..the way my belly feels its telling me it doesn't feel good at all....

anyone what can i drink that is lactose,soy and gluten free.....help

Diva :(

I'm sorry you're not feeling well- if It's Rice Dream I'm pretty sure it has barley in it. I don't buy it so I haven't read the label in awhile but I know it was not gluten-free before. Hope you feel better soon!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm a super-sensitive celiac. I started drinking Rice Dream a few months ago, and I haven't had any problems. I just checked the label, and I didn't see any gluten ingredients. Have you tried any other new items lately?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am also intolerant of rice. Which really does suck as alot of gluten-free products relies on rice flour, rice milk, etc. I don't recall it having gluten in it but that was way back when I was just learning and going thru the elimination thing. Many of us are intolerant of many things, as you have said you are also dairy-intolerant. Very common. But keep your mind open to other food groups also. Best wishes!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rice Dream is made using barley. There are a lot of us who do react to it. Barley does not have to be declared on a label when it is only used in small amounts as a flavoring agent or in the processing. Rice Dream used to disclose the barley but removed it from the label some time ago.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Try almond or hemp milk. They are both delicious.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I checked the ingredients earlier, and it looked fine. Now, looking at the front of the box, it is labeled "Gluten-free"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest backboneexecutives

Here I thought drinking rice milk that i finally could drink something for my calcium intake..bought Dream Rice...but I think it has gluten..the way my belly feels its telling me it doesn't feel good at all....

anyone what can i drink that is lactose,soy and gluten free.....help

Diva :(

Almond Milk, it is lactoce, casein and gluten free.. no soy either.. :-) it is delicicous and they have chocolate that my daughter loves, too

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rice Dream is not gluten free. AFAIK all the other brands are. But there is at least one that contains soy if you are avoiding that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I checked the ingredients earlier, and it looked fine. Now, looking at the front of the box, it is labeled "Gluten-free"

The amount that's in there is so small they don't have to claim it. But it's there!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I checked the ingredients earlier, and it looked fine. Now, looking at the front of the box, it is labeled "Gluten-free"

There are no regs for the gluten free label. If the amount of gluten is very small or the gluten ingredient is used in processing or as a flavoring agent it does not have to be declared. Personally I believe all gluten should be declared but the 'powers that be' seem to think 'a little bit' won't hurt us. This is of course not the case for many of us. Those of us that do react to small amounts really need to speak up by contacting the FDA. We need total disclosure just the same as folks with true allergies to the 'big 8'.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I checked the ingredients earlier, and it looked fine. Now, looking at the front of the box, it is labeled "Gluten-free"

Keep in mind - there are no rules regulating that barley be disclosed, nor any rule that states what "gluten free" means. Any company can put gluten free on anything.

That being said, here is the company's take on it: http://www.tastethedream.com/info/qa_ricedream.php

"Is RICE DREAM Beverage a gluten free product?

Yes. Although RICE DREAM Beverage is processed using a barley enzyme, the barley enzyme is discarded after use. The final beverage might contain a minute residual amount (less than .002%) of barley protein. For a list of gluten free products click here "

For some people, it is enough to give them symptoms. For others, it isn't. If I remember correctly, at one point, they used to list the barley, and then took it off their label, but the actual formula did not change.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you to happygirl, ravenwoodglass, and Juliebove for setting me straight!I am always so careful about checking labels, but that explains the issues I've had these few months. I switched to Rice Dream (from Soy Dream), yet have had lingering problems. It didn't occur to me that Rice Dream could be the source of it. :huh:

Thanks for the help!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here I thought drinking rice milk that i finally could drink something for my calcium intake..bought Dream Rice...but I think it has gluten..the way my belly feels its telling me it doesn't feel good at all....

anyone what can i drink that is lactose,soy and gluten free.....help

Diva :(

Pacific brand rice, almond, hazelnut, and oat milks are all gluten-free, SF, CF, and LF. I'm also super sensitive and cannot tolerate Rice Dream. Hemp Dream seems to be OK though. Blue Diamond puts soy lecithin in their almond milk. :( By the way, Pacific makes a chocolate hazelnut that when blended up with a frozen banana, a couple frozen strawberries, coconut milk, and pineapple tastes just like a banana split. :D

* Edit - Oh yeah, I usually dump a splash of vanilla extract in too.

Edited by Korwyn

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SO Delicious brand coconut milk...soy free...dairy free and Gluten free. I've used it in mashed potatoes, cereal ,soup ,pancakes, hot chocolate, etc. Surprisingly does not add coconut flavor to foods. My daughter and granddaughter are dairy free and soy turned out to be a problem also. My little granddaughter will have it warm with nutmeg and honey. It's sold in half gallon containers in refrigerated section. They also make dairy free soy free yogurt and frozen dessert ( ice cream) and fudge pops.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×