Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Rufus376

Been Very Hungry Lately: This Is Good Right?

Hey again, as some of you may know I'm still new to the Celiac lifestyle and I only been gluten-free for about 2 months. Lately I've noticed I've been getting very hungry very often and I was wondering if this is part of the healing process. About every few hours I get the incredible urge to eat and this is something I haven't been used to after dealing with the complete absence of hunger due to Celiac reactions before I was diagnosed. I'm just curious if anyone else experienced symptoms similar to this once they went gluten-free.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Guest gillian502

"Hungry" does not even begin to describe the feeling I went through during my first 3 or 4 months gluten-free. I really never knew anyone could eat as much and as often as I did in the beginning of this diet. It was getting to be a problem for me, because I was hungry so often at one point that it was interrupting my sleep and really ruining my day, because I never felt satisfied! Then someone suggested I add more protein, and that worked quite well. I found that eating eggs, turkey, or other sources of protein helped, especially if I started the day with foods like that, so I could stay more full for longer periods of time. This intense hunger normalized around month 3 or 4 of the diet, and also going on a PPI drug (Aciphex) worked to correct the inflammation in my stomach due to years of damage, which helped me feel more normal, too. Sounds like you're feeling the way you should for the beginning of the diet, hang in there!

Gillian