Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Myooshka

Does Bacon Have Gluten?

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I have never encountered bacon that was not gluten-free.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have never encountered bacon that was not gluten-free.

Neither have I. OMG, I would die without bacon. Seriously. :D


Be yourself, everyone else is taken.

Oscar Wilde

Gluten free November 2007

IgA Deficient, Neg Bloodwork, Double DQ2 Positive

Dietary and Genetic Diagnosis June 2, 2008

Soy free Jan 09

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's one label I always have to very carefully check; some of ours does :(


Neroli

"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"

"Whatever the question, the answer is always chocolate." Nigella Lawson

------------

Caffeine free 1973

Lactose free 1990

(Mis)diagnosed IBS, fibromyalgia '80's and '90's

Diagnosed psoriatic arthritis 2004

Self-diagnosed gluten intolerant, gluten-free Nov. 2007

Soy free March 2008

Nightshade free Feb 2009

Citric acid free June 2009

Potato starch free July 2009

(Totally) corn free Nov. 2009

Legume free March 2010

Now tolerant of lactose

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I always read the label but have only seen one that had gluten - Farmer John's contains regular soy sauce.


---------------------------------

MP - celiac for 10 years

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have never encountered bacon that was not gluten-free.

Thanks for the reply. I have a million questions. Can you please tell me if you have to be careful with plain rice? Is it often contaminated with gluten? Also for my little guy are there any fries that are safe. We tried the Ian's but he didn't like them. I called Mccain today and they have some that don't contain gluten but are cooked in the same areas where they process fries with gluten.....so if anyone can tell me any other types of fries that are safe would be much appreciated. Thank-you, Mya

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Plain rice would be gluten-free. Most items with only one ingredient are safe, unless the ingredient is obviously a gluten source such as flour.

Try these links for useful information:

Unsafe ingredients.

Safe ingredients.

Here's a list of companies that have a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc." Although this list is from the United States, the Canadian affiliates of these companies follow the same policy.

VH is a Con Agra brand sold only in Canada. VH Soya Sauce is gluten-free--we use it regularly. McCormick will clearly label any gluten ingredient. Use their single-ingredient spices with complete confidence. We do.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the reply. Could you also recommend a brand of peanut butter that is gluten free as well as nuts. Thanks, Mya

Arrowhead Mills Creamy Organic Peanut Butter. They also have Crunchy as well. The label states "Gluten Free".

Ingredients: 100% Organic Dry Roasted Peanuts

Contains: Peanuts. (May contain traces of soy and tree nuts)

It's my favorite! Hope this helps.

-- Rocky

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't run across bacon that contains gluten, although watch out in restaraunts for bacon bits. I know Tony Roma's bacon bits do contain gluten.


DD diagnosed Celiac by biopsy May 2008 at 7 years old.

DD diagnosed with Asthma November 2009 at 8 years old.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Arrowhead Mills Creamy Organic Peanut Butter. They also have Crunchy as well. The label states "Gluten Free".

Ingredients: 100% Organic Dry Roasted Peanuts

Contains: Peanuts. (May contain traces of soy and tree nuts)

It's my favorite! Hope this helps.

-- Rocky

Can you tell me where you can buy this peanut butter. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you are in Alberta? I am in Alberta too. Kraft peanut butter is gluten-free. Co-op (if you are in southern AB) has a nice Organic no-stir peanut butter. Western Family makes a nice Organic need-to-stir peanut butter (at Save-On Foods or Sobeys). Bacon I'm not sure.

I've lived in northern and southern AB so PM me if you want any info.


Tapioca intolerant

First cousin dx'd with Celiac Disease

Grandmother died of malnutrition b/c everything made her sick... sounds like celiac to me.

Gluten-free since June 2005

Dx with IBS February 2005

Blood tests both negative (or inconclusive?) for celiac (in 2002 and 2004)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there can anyone tell me if bacon has gluten and if so what brands do not. Thanks

I haven't had a problem with Bacon at all. If you are in Southern Alberta, have you gone to gluten-free Patisserie? They make the best gluten free products. They are located in Cochrane (west of Calgary). They have a great restaurant in town called Oliver R Twist. They label celiac friendly dishes on their menu. If you are craving Chinese food, check out Oriental Palace in Calgary. They make the best gluten free lemon chicken.

Here are their websites:

gluten-free Patisserie

122 3 Avenue West

Cochrane, AB T4C 1X8

Get Directions

(403) 990-9565

http://orientalpalace.blogspot.com/

http://maps.google.ca/maps/place?sourceid=navclient&rlz=1T4RNWI_enCA321CA321&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=oliver+r+twist&fb=1&gl=ca&hq=oliver+r+twist&hnear=Calgary,+AB&cid=16303476157374210272

Paula :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there can anyone tell me if bacon has gluten and if so what brands do not. Thanks

In Calgary and Edmonton (Farmer's Market) there is a vendor called SUN WORKS they are a celiac family that farms grass fed animals...all their meat is gluten free (not grain fed) and that includes their bacon also eggs.

They also have various breakfast susages,chicken weinners, chicken meatloaf luch meat, rst.beef lunch meat, lamb, etc... a really great selection! Tasty! And a busy vendor!!

I believe on their website they can accomodate people that can't get to the market...they are a really great family

Hope this helps! Also ORGANIC!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Calgary and Edmonton (Farmer's Market) there is a vendor called SUN WORKS they are a celiac family that farms grass fed animals...all their meat is gluten free (not grain fed) and that includes their bacon also eggs.

They also have various breakfast susages,chicken weinners, chicken meatloaf luch meat, rst.beef lunch meat, lamb, etc... a really great selection! Tasty! And a busy vendor!!

I believe on their website they can accomodate people that can't get to the market...they are a really great family

Hope this helps! Also ORGANIC!

This will be good news for those seeking organic foods.

Meat is gluten-free regardless of what the animal from which it came was fed.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As Peter said, it makes no difference at all what the animal is fed. The meat is gluten-free even if the animal eats wheat or barley.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Calgary and Edmonton (Farmer's Market) there is a vendor called SUN WORKS they are a celiac family that farms grass fed animals...all their meat is gluten free (not grain fed) and that includes their bacon also eggs.

They also have various breakfast susages,chicken weinners, chicken meatloaf luch meat, rst.beef lunch meat, lamb, etc... a really great selection! Tasty! And a busy vendor!!

I believe on their website they can accomodate people that can't get to the market...they are a really great family

Hope this helps! Also ORGANIC!

THANK-YOU! :) :) :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SunWorks Farms rocks! I've been buying their products for years. Their products are also nitrate- and MSG-free.


Tapioca intolerant

First cousin dx'd with Celiac Disease

Grandmother died of malnutrition b/c everything made her sick... sounds like celiac to me.

Gluten-free since June 2005

Dx with IBS February 2005

Blood tests both negative (or inconclusive?) for celiac (in 2002 and 2004)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Plain rice would be gluten-free. Most items with only one ingredient are safe, unless the ingredient is obviously a gluten source such as flour."

I unfortunately had a bad experience with rice. I had Unico long grain rice and OH boy I was in pain for days. I added other ingredients such as eggplants and lentils I had those both by themselves and was fine so rice had to be the culprit. It's such a pain because it's not listed anywhere on the packaging "may contain wheat, soy etc." I'm going to shoot them an e-mail about this see if there was some cross contamination.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I live in Alberta and HAVE seen bacon containing soy sauce derived from wheat! Cannot recall which brand, though. So, carefully read the labels.


<p>Confirmed celiac disease February 2011 from biopsies. Strictly gluten free March 18 2011.Diagnosed with fibromyalgia April 13 2011.3 herniated discs, myofascial pain syndrome, IT band syndrome, 2 rotator cuff injuries - from an accident Dec. 07 - resulting in chronic pain ever since. Degenerative disc disease.Osteoarthritis in back and hips.Chronic insomnia mostly due to chronic pain.Aspartame free May 2011.

When our lives are squeezed by pressure and pain, what comes out is what is inside.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Safeway, there is back bacon slabs that you slice yourself. These are labelled gluten free. Also, their old fashioned peanut butter (needs to be stirred) has only "peanuts" on their ingredient list. I use it, never had any problems with it.


Self diagnosed as gluten free as all tests were negative and the doctor was completely useless.

Gluten Free since June 2010

Suspecting soy and milk as of June 2011

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Know is thread is old, but it's still the first hit in google for 'is bacon gluten free' and I do have some input.

BF recently bought the Maple Leaf Naturals bacon, which has Naturals gluten-free weiners, so he thought the bacon was also gluten free. Unfortunately the ingredient list was unclear, go 'spices'!

I emailed Maple Leaf and they said that the ONLY products they guarantee that are gluten-free are ones with Gluten Free right on the package. So their Natural bacon is NOT gluten free, for whatever reason. Being a large manufacturer of many other pork products that involve wheat, they probably don't have the gluten-free production line or whatever or maybe their 'spices' aren't gluten-free.

Furthermore, many bacons have natural and artificial flavors and colors listed in their ingredients, which may not be safe. And Maple Leaf probably isn't the only bacon brand that is likely to have cross contamination, since lots of companies make ham and weiners and bologna etc, as well as bacon. Bacon is a processed meat, not a cut of fresh pork.

I was largely only buying local bacon from my local farmer's market prior my dx (because their pigs actually have a semblance of a life, short though it probably is, not merely a tortured existence), which happens to also be gluten-free. It's tastier anyways.


diagnosed Jan 2012, bloodwork only

June 2012 positive visual of celiac disease from gastroscopy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unfortunately the ingredient list was unclear, go 'spices'!

No grain can legally be listed as "spices." Spices as an ingredient are always gluten-free. Do not confuse "spices" with "seasoning"--the terms are quite different.

I have never found a bacon that had gluten in twelve years gluten-free.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites