Dylan

Anyone Able To Translate This To Gluten Free!? Please!

Rate this topic

I would use cornstarch, potato starch, or whatever flour mixture you have on hand to thicken. Most bacon is gluten-free--I use Oscar Mayer. As for the toast, just use whatever bread you like.

That does sound good. Jerseyangel's advice is sound. When a recipe uses flour to thicken I generally use an all purpose gluten free blend. Beware... it will probably take a little less for the desired thickness.

For the bread, if you have access to Udi's use it. That is the only one I have found that doesn't get gummy when it is damp.

Fun times....I have pretty much zero access to gluten free bread around here. :(. I've never used another thickener before, so I am hesitant about using one at ALL. Keynote....How would some Ore Ida hashbrowns as a base do? I think it might just turn out pretty darn well (after trying the gluten free breakfast casserole- hashbrowns instead of bread-I just made Sunday). Just put the "toppings" over the hashbrowns?

Thanks for the input! I'll try it soon.

~D

Fun times....I have pretty much zero access to gluten free bread around here. :(. I've never used another thickener before, so I am hesitant about using one at ALL. Keynote....How would some Ore Ida hashbrowns as a base do? I think it might just turn out pretty darn well (after trying the gluten free breakfast casserole- hashbrowns instead of bread-I just made Sunday). Just put the "toppings" over the hashbrowns?

Thanks for the input! I'll try it soon.

~D

Frankly, I think I would prefer the hashbrowns to the bread! Don't be afraid to use cornstarch--it's an excellent thickener, easy to find and to use.

Frankly, I think I would prefer the hashbrowns to the bread! Don't be afraid to use cornstarch--it's an excellent thickener, easy to find and to use.

That looks great! Thanks for sharing. I think I'd have to add a little Louisiana Hot Sauce to mine :) though.