Gluten schmuten

Bread Machine ~~ Which One?!

Rate this topic

I am new to this whole gluten free issue. After trying several very expensive gluten-free breads I really think I want to try and bake my own. So, I want to get a bread machine (preferably one that mixes, rises and bakes). I am looking at the Cuisinart CBX 200 which states it has a gluten free setting. Anyone with bread machine experience and advice for the new kid on the block??

I am new to this whole gluten free issue. After trying several very expensive gluten-free breads I really think I want to try and bake my own. So, I want to get a bread machine (preferably one that mixes, rises and bakes). I am looking at the Cuisinart CBX 200 which states it has a gluten free setting. Anyone with bread machine experience and advice for the new kid on the block??

I have 2 bread machines, none of which have a gluten free setting. None of my breads have come out spectacular,but were edible.I have been thinking of purchasing one with a gluten setting also, since none of the ones I have can be programmed to simply rise once, then bake. Of course, you can always use a bread machine with a non gluten setting to mix up the dough, and then simply transfer the dough to a bread pan to rise, then pop into the oven to bake. I've noticed most of the Zojirushi owners are very happy with the product... a Z machine is quite expensive, more than I want to pay, especially since discovering Udi's bread. Note: the Z mini-machine is not getting good reviews.....I was unaware that they made one until reading it on this forum.

A heavy duty motor in a bread machine is a must for gluten-free bread baking, and I would also prefer paddles that remove from the machine, so you don't have paddle holes in the bottom of the bread. I'd suggest doing a search on this forum for articles on bread machines.....much, much info right here on this forum.