Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
teresasupermom

Very Frustrated, How To Find Hidden Gluten

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Okay, I got the gist of things now and thought I was doing good, but I'm frustrated. How do you know if something is truly gluten free? I have been reading labels and not getting stuff that has gluten ingredients and thought I was doing good. I've been giving my dd Kix cereal because I didn't see anything in it on the ingredients that she couldn't have. But then I got to thinking all the Chex cereals are labeled gluten free why wouldn't GM cereals label Kix gluten free too? So I did a quick google search and from what I can see Kix is not approved as gluten free. I am so frustrated. I am guessing I am going to hit Dr. Google for each and every single food. How do you sort things out if label reading isn't enough?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, I got the gist of things now and thought I was doing good, but I'm frustrated. How do you know if something is truly gluten free? I have been reading labels and not getting stuff that has gluten ingredients and thought I was doing good. I've been giving my dd Kix cereal because I didn't see anything in it on the ingredients that she couldn't have. But then I got to thinking all the Chex cereals are labeled gluten free why wouldn't GM cereals label Kix gluten free too? So I did a quick google search and from what I can see Kix is not approved as gluten free. I am so frustrated. I am guessing I am going to hit Dr. Google for each and every single food. How do you sort things out if label reading isn't enough?

I feel your pain. I found that Fruity Pebbles and Chex are safe for me, but honestly, it is easier to just eat foods that I make, or things that are naturally gluten free. Keep the rest to a minimum, and I take my phone with me and google everything I'm not sure about.

Several people said that Kix was fine with them. I haven't personally tried it. I decided to stick with oatmeal with brown sugar and various other ingredients to stay safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is tough in the beginning...with cereal, I only trust those that say gluten free. With Kix and others (I haven't tried them with my son), I'm afraid of the possibility of cross contamination. I've emailed and called General Mills several times trying to get an answer as why the Chex is labelled and the rest are not, but I've not gotten a satisfactory answer.

In the beginning you have to do a lot of calling to manufacturers, but then you start to get a comfort zone of products you know are safe and trust. Kraft is really good about labelling, so if you don't see wheat, barley, rye, or oats you're good to go. I still google and check on this forum with new products a lot. Also, you have to keep checking because ingredients change.

Good luck and feel free to ask lots of questions!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is GM's response to me. BTW I got an email response in 24 hrs. I consider that pretty good.

Thank you for contacting us about gluten in Trix and Kix cereals.

General Mills offers several products that are labeled gluten-free. Please check the package label for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package. Only products that can be verified to be gluten free will be declared as gluten free on the label. It is important to check the product label each time you purchase a product because it has the most accurate information about the product in the package.

Because we constantly strive to improve our products′ quality and nutritional value, the most up-to-date product information is on the package the product is purchased in. For that reason, we do not distribute product information lists as they could quickly become outdated. A current list of products on the market that are gluten free can be found by visiting www.liveglutenfreely.com . It is important to check the package label before purchasing for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package to verify that the package you choose is gluten free.

For products not labeled gluten free, we will always declare gluten containing ingredients if they are added to the product. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, oats, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten. Examples of derivative ingredients include: malt, barley malt, organic malt, semolina, Durham, triticale, and spelt. We do not include gluten containing ingredients in the ′Natural Flavors′ or ′Spices′ on the product ingredient list. If there are gluten ingredients in our products, those ingredients are always clearly listed.

If there are no gluten- containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires.

FYI SAME response for other GM items ... They have the same claim for all their products.

Good luck.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was told by the dietician to get this book on Amazon for $20. I did and it was worth every penny and then some. It it updated every 9months to a year as companies update their products.

THe ultimate guide to GLuten-free living. by the Celiac Disease Center at Columbia University.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×