Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
purpleflowers

Cold,Rude And Stupid Was My Starbucks Hotline Rep

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

well I was feeling real down today and no food is agreeing with me so I was really daydreaming about my comforting former all time drink at starbucks.So I got desperate KNEW DARN WELL that this crap aint good and called anyway to ask.

I got this nasty woman who started out by saying ( when I asked her Im inguiring about your ingredients in your such and such drink) I said "DOES IT CONTAIN ANY GLUTEN" she said "WHAT?"

I said it again.She again said CONTAIN WHAT? real nasty. Then she said GLUETAN! I said WHAT? if yo udont know what the heck it is that forget it, its not a guarantee.She said VERY NASTY...."well I dont know what GLUE TAN is.

I said, " what is your name"..............Boy did I get HUNG up on quickly!

She was so cold, rude and mad eme more mad that she works there for this billion dollar company and sure as hell should know what ingredients really are or arent there for those who could have anaphalaxic shock or something.

I was more mad too cause she didnthave to have to know that word GLUTEN and I do.Just annoyed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

She does sound incredibly rude, maybe she was having a bad day. Not everyone knows what gluten is. When I call places I ask if there is any wheat, rye, barley or oats in the product. It makes it easier for them to understand. I don't know if any Starbucks stuff is safe for us, perhaps do a board search using the word starbucks and see what comes up. I know folks have asked about them before but don't remember if anything is safe or not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I could just a a license to write her a prescription for an EXTRA large suppository of Prosac!! :lol:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought I had seen a list that had most Starbucks drinks as OK. Went to the website & couldn't find it so I emailed. Was very specific about "wheat, rye, barley(malt)". I'll let you know what I get back. I like Starbucks but rarely drink anything that isn't just coffee & milk.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not sure if this has the info you're looking for:

Gluten Free Information

The following information was given by a Customer Service Department representative for Starbucks via telephone in December 2008. They require you to call to receive information about their gluten-free menu items, rather than email.

Not gluten-free:

The following ingredients are not gluten-free -

Chips - Java Chip, Chocolate Chip, International Beverage Chip, Universal Chip

Toppings - Graham Crunch, Pie Crust, Shortbread Cookie Topping, Cinnamon Dulce*

Syrups - Dulce de Leche, Shortbread

Malt

Vanilla Bean Powder

*Starbucks' Cinnamon Powder is gluten-free. The Cinnamon Dulce, however has a "wheat component" which is "denatured" to remove the gluten protein. They recommend that those who are extremely sensitive not risk consuming it.

Any drink containing any of the above ingredients is not considered gluten-free. The Eggnog drink is also not considered gluten-free.

Gluten-Free: All beverages that do not contain the above ingredients are considered gluten free. The representive did mention that the Peppermint Curls and Crystlized Ginger Topping are gluten-free.

Note: Although Starbucks routinely rinses pitchers after each drink is made, the customer service representative said gluten-free customers can request that the pitcher go through a sanitizer before their drink is made.

________________________________________________________________________________

This year, a Starbucks rep confirmed for me that almost all their syrups are gluten-free. The holiday ones usually are not. The frappuccinos can contain malt, and should probably be avoided anyway due to cross-contamination in the blenders. They only rinse them with hot water during the day and dishwash them at night.

Personally, I tell them I have allergies and ask them to get a clean spoon if I order a hot drink. That's never been a problem. If I get a cold drink (no foam involved), I just ask them not to stir it and stir it myself with a straw.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

She does sound incredibly rude, maybe she was having a bad day. Not everyone knows what gluten is. When I call places I ask if there is any wheat, rye, barley or oats in the product. It makes it easier for them to understand. I don't know if any Starbucks stuff is safe for us, perhaps do a board search using the word starbucks and see what comes up. I know folks have asked about them before but don't remember if anything is safe or not.

yeah I know but was looking for some normalcy (if thats how its spelled)

Depressed.....want some comforting food the kind the rest of the world seems to be having........BITTER

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×