Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
ajsceliak

Alcoholic Beverage Products

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I love having Captain Morgan original spiced rum and Bacardi rums (gold & silver).....but I was wondering if anyone knows if they are gluten-free? I tried reading the internet and found many different answers and after I drink the Captain Morgan I have some slight symptoms of it containing wheat or gluten. Just wanted to make sure before I continue to use these products. Thanks for the help!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I love having Captain Morgan original spiced rum and Bacardi rums (gold & silver).....but I was wondering if anyone knows if they are gluten-free? I tried reading the internet and found many different answers and after I drink the Captain Morgan I have some slight symptoms of it containing wheat or gluten. Just wanted to make sure before I continue to use these products. Thanks for the help!

All distilled alcohols are considered safe for people with Celiac to consume. Flavor added after this process may not be.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All distilled alcohols are considered safe for people with Celiac to consume. Flavor added after this process may not be.

http://www.celiac.co...ages/Page1.html

Hey, I am recently diagnosed (3 weeks) and my 19th birthday is coming up. My biggest concerns are Skyy Vodka, Appleton rum, Polar Ice Vodka, seeing as these are the main liquors served at George St. pubs. I know the individual websites state that they are distilled, and therefore no gluten byproducts remain, but I am concerned since all the information online is contradictory. Any ideas?

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My biggest concerns are Skyy Vodka, Appleton rum, Polar Ice Vodka.

I know of no reason for concern with respect to any of those containing gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From all my reading in the past, the vodkas should be fine. Rums are questionable, if they are not made in the US. Anything dark and brown should be questioned if made elsewhere. Not much of a rum drinker myself, so unfamiliar with them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rums are questionable, if they are not made in the US. Anything dark and brown should be questioned if made elsewhere. Not much of a rum drinker myself, so unfamiliar with them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From all my reading in the past, the vodkas should be fine. Rums are questionable, if they are not made in the US. Anything dark and brown should be questioned if made elsewhere. Not much of a rum drinker myself, so unfamiliar with them.

I disagree. This sounds like the old caramel color urban myth. Rum is never made from grain, and caramel color is safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok great thanks the only thing that scared me was I found off wiki:

"Captain Morgan's Rum is distilled from sugar cane. The combination of the type of yeasts employed for fermentation, distillation method, aging conditions, and blending determines the characteristic flavor of rum. Made with molasses, water, mash and yeast..."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I disagree. This sounds like the old caramel color urban myth. Rum is never made from grain, and caramel color is safe.

I agree. The only exception might be with the flavored rums. Those I would check.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I disagree. This sounds like the old caramel color urban myth. Rum is never made from grain, and caramel color is safe.

psawyer, I love your posts. You are always so non-alarmist and informed. Thanks for all the help I get from you.

As to the alcohols, I agree that the alcohols themselves are fine (gluten-free) but flavorings added after distillation may not be. I have trouble with certain Gins, but I don't drink flavored rums or vodkas... only the clasic stuff.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm new...never even thought about alcohol....how about wine??? Is that okay?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm new...never even thought about alcohol....how about wine??? Is that okay?

Wine is 100% gluten free. There has been talk on this forum of wineries which use some sort of paste on their oak barrels, which may contain gluten, but I have yet to ever become sick from drinking wine and I drink wine everyday. I am extremely sensitive to gluten, am a diagnosed Celiac and wine has never made me sick. Some people are sensitive to sulfites in wine so if you have a reaction, it probably is from sulfites. That is very common.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok great thanks the only thing that scared me was I found off wiki:

"Captain Morgan's Rum is distilled from sugar cane. The combination of the type of yeasts employed for fermentation, distillation method, aging conditions, and blending determines the characteristic flavor of rum. Made with molasses, water, mash and yeast..."

Wikipedia is a poor source of information as it can be modified by anyone. I would stick to trusted medical sources or ask psawyer......he's a MUCH better source than Wiki! ;) The man knows his stuff!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×