This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Newly Diagnosed Away From Home

Rebecca Madrid

Rebecca Madrid Newbie

Okay, so I'm new to celiac and new to the forum. I just have a question for the other teen celiacs out there. I have been recently diagnosed after about two years of symptoms, and doctors telling me I'm just "tired" or "depressed". I am currently living in Newfoundland for University (although home is Ontario), and I'm finding myself very isolated... No pitching in on late night "Rez Special" pizza, or Wing Night at Don Cherry's, or drinking cheap-as-water pints of Black Horse at the favourite Karaoke bar. I'm finding it doesn't help the exhaustion or depression either, to constantly have to explain to the people your around what's wrong. I also can't seem to get through a meal at meal hall without someone making a comment, joke, or dirty look, at my "funny looking" bread or cereal. Just looking for someone whose been there, a reassurance I'm not as alone as I feel.

You guys must have been in a similar place at some time, how do you get through constantly feeling different??

Rebecca

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

exsandohs163 Rookie

It's hard but I just keep in mind that I feel so much better now. My friend's go out for pizza and I just sit there with a drink...they always ask "Can't you just eat one slice? It can't be THAT bad!" They just don't understand what it is like :rolleyes: . lol I am used to it now though. I get through the day by knowing what I am doing is th best thing for me.

flagbabyds Collaborator