Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
kaiess

Hydrolyzed Soy Protein / Vh Teriyaki Sauce In Canada

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I know we're to avoid hydrolyzed vegetable protein but I'm confused if it states "SOY". Does it mean avoid EVERYTHING with "hydrolyzed __ any vegetable source__ protein" or just avoid the ones that say only "hydrolyzed vegetable protein"??

Sorry, just learning so probably a dumb question :)

The VH Teriyaki sauce in Canada contains:

sugar, water, molasses, salt, glucose-fructose, caramel colour, hydrolyzed soy protein, corn syrup, vinegar, seasoning, artificial flavour, citric acid, wine flavour, sodium benzoate.

(I see we don't know the "vinegar" either)

Trying to make our first gluten-free supper for family coming over tonight. If the VH Teriyaki is unsafe is there ANY Teriyaki sauce that is safe??

Thanks for helping,

Kathy (who can't cook!), mom to Jakob, 10, Type 1 Mar2004, Celiac Mar 11, 2010 (gluten-free as of yesterday.....I think/hope!), also mom to princess Jadyn, 6 and wife to Rick (who can kind of cook!)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hydrolyzed plant/vegetable protein is safe, unless it comes from a gluten grain. Soy protein is gluten-free. When the source is unspecified, it is usually soy, but that is a situation to check on with some manufacturers.

Vinegar is gluten-free, except for malt vinegar which is always labeled as just that, "malt vinegar."

VH is a Con Agra brand. Con Agra will always clearly disclose the presence of a gluten grain by including the name of the grain in the ingredients list. If you don't see wheat, barley, rye or oats named, they are simply not there.

So, there you are. VH Teriyaki Sauce is gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×