This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Celiac And Obsessive Compulsive Disorder/anxiety

lakegirl410

lakegirl410 Rookie

Hi!

I'm not sure how long I've been suffering from Celiac Disease, but I've had stomach issues since high school. I also have Obsessive Compulsive Disorder/Anxiety/Depression. That's been going on since I was about three. I was wondering if there is any type of link. I know OCD/Anxiety/Depression is caused by a chemical imbalance in the brain, but it seems to me that my stomach issues got much worse at the same time that I had an emotional meltdown and had to be put on SSRIs. This was around the time I graduated from college and was forced to look for a "real" job in the "real" world. (Art History just doesn't pay the bills.) I really don't know if there could be a link, but I was wondering if anybody has any ideas.

Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

WheatChef Apprentice

There is a very strong link between gluten and at the very least anxiety and depression (would have to ask someone else about the OCD). For me my chronic anxiety went away quite quickly after going gluten free.

Wolicki Enthusiast

'Before going gluten free, as I got sicker and sicker, I was on Xanax 4 times a day. That went away within days :D

glutout Rookie

'Before going gluten free, as I got sicker and sicker, I was on Xanax 4 times a day. That went away within days :D