Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I called yesterday to ask if Kix was gluten free. They said yes, and that any of their products that dont list wheat, rye, barley, or oats are gluten free. I asked if there was any risk of cross contamination, and they said no, that it was made in a seperate facility. Has anyone else been told this? I have to admit, I am still nervous to try it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called yesterday to ask if Kix was gluten free. They said yes, and that any of their products that dont list wheat, rye, barley, or oats are gluten free. I asked if there was any risk of cross contamination, and they said no, that it was made in a seperate facility. Has anyone else been told this? I have to admit, I am still nervous to try it.

Kix has been reformulated so that it no longer contains oats. However, the company has decided not to specifically label Kix as gluten-free nor claim it to be so, as cross-contamination is still a possibility.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As they said to you, General Mills will clearly label any gluten-containing ingredient in any of their products by naming the grain. Many other companies have the same policy. A partial list includes Kraft, Unilever and Con Agra.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called yesterday to ask if Kix was gluten free. They said yes, and that any of their products that dont list wheat, rye, barley, or oats are gluten free. I asked if there was any risk of cross contamination, and they said no, that it was made in a seperate facility. Has anyone else been told this? I have to admit, I am still nervous to try it.

I personally have tried Kix, Honey Kix, Trix, and all the gluten-free Chex. I am not an overly sensitive celiac when it comes to cross contamination, but I did not have a problem with any of these. I also eat fruity, cupcake, and cocoa pebbles without any problems. It is so nice to have a "fortified" cereal to eat everyday or as a snack option. Also, fruity pebbles are great if you make them into a rice krispy treat. sooooo sweet but super yummy. You can do it with the cocoa pebbles too :) I hope that you are able to eat these cereals without any problems. Maybe just try a few pieces and see how you feel. That's what I did.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I loved Kix as a kid but over the years they made them sweeter. I just don't like sweetened cereal. However, if I knew they were definitely gluten free, I think I could grow to love them. That is, once my corn intolerance goes away.

Please let us know if any of you are able to tolerate Kix.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OH.MY.Goodness.

I LOVE Kix cereal! :)

If they indeed are made in a separate factory, wouldn't they be safe to eat?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am pretty sensitive, and I eat Kix with no problems, and so do my boys. My younger barfs at the smell of gluten (nearly) and never has any issues. The berry kix are great!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My super-sensitive Celiac also eats Kix without problems. We like the honey Kix, too. Never have been able to find the berry ones.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I eat Kix almost 5 days a week and I can tell you that my blood tests are now clean.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×