Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Celiac.com Sponsor:

GFLindsey

Shocking Places You've Found Gluten!

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I don't have one in front of me, but I read the ingredients on a roll of the regular mints and "wheat" was staring me in the face.

Here's a list of ingredients I found online for "Mint Mentos":

sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, rice starch, gum arabic, sucrose esters of fatty acides, gellan gum, natural flavors

But wheat glucose syrup is okay to eat. At least it is in Australia where I live.

Wheat glucose syrup is so refined that there is no detectable trace of gluten left. It's like Dextrose (from wheat) and Caramel colour 150D (from wheat). They are the safe wheat exceptions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is very likely a misunderstanding by the person who said this. This myth has been going around for as long as I have been gluten-free, but in that time nobody has ever found actual confirmation of a product where wheat is used. Wheat is used in baking because it sticks together. It would make a poor anti-caking agent. If an anti-caking agent is used at all, it would be cellulose powder (which is gluten-free). Most shredded cheeses are just that: shredded cheese and nothing else.

It came right from the manager of the restaurant, who added that wheat was in all their sauces as thickeners and in all the meat marinades as soy sauce. Personally, I've never seen wheat in shredded cheese at the grocery store.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But wheat glucose syrup is okay to eat. At least it is in Australia where I live.

Wheat glucose syrup is so refined that there is no detectable trace of gluten left. It's like Dextrose (from wheat) and Caramel colour 150D (from wheat). They are the safe wheat exceptions.

Wiki had this rather interesting list, the amount of gluten (in parts per million) left at various stages of processing:

Wheat Flour (80,000ppm) > Wheat Starch (200ppm) > Dextrin > Maltodextrin > Glucose Syrup (<5ppm) > Dextrose > Caramel Color

So since wheat glucose syrup is less than 5 ppm, it's considered "gluten-free", even in Australia, a country that requires a product to be less than 5ppm to be labeled "gluten-free".

OK. I panicked. Any time I see that word "wheat" in a list of ingredients, I run the other way (unless the word "buck" is in front of it). :blink: But now I know that wheat glucose syrup, dextrose and caramel color are all ok.

Fresh breath can be mine again! :lol:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wiki had this rather interesting list, the amount of gluten (in parts per million) left at various stages of processing:

Wheat Flour (80,000ppm) > Wheat Starch (200ppm) > Dextrin > Maltodextrin > Glucose Syrup (<5ppm) > Dextrose > Caramel Color

So since wheat glucose syrup is less than 5 ppm, it's considered "gluten-free", even in Australia, a country that requires a product to be less than 5ppm to be labeled "gluten-free".

OK. I panicked. Any time I see that word "wheat" in a list of ingredients, I run the other way (unless the word "buck" is in front of it). :blink: But now I know that wheat glucose syrup, dextrose and caramel color are all ok.

Fresh breath can be mine again! :lol:

The way I remember it is that anything ending in "...ose" (as in glucose or dextrose) is okay even if it is followed by the word wheat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

geeesh and people wonder why I am so afraid to eat away from home. I hope I get less freaked out as I adjust to the gluten-free thing, eventually I am going to forget a snack and have to eat something someone else cooked :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello!

Just found this board (via a search for Mentos and Gluten reaction).  

WAY happy to be here.

So yesterday I had an episode of fatigue...and it was totally gluten fatigue, and it was around 30 minutes after I ate a roll of Mentos...(which I didn't check ahead... because they're Mentos.)

As soon as I started going cross-eyed, I went looking for the package, and it says glucose - so I look it up, and all over the place online I'm told that wheat glucose shouldn't cause a reaction.

 

I was at home and the only other thing I had eaten was a banana and black coffee.

 

I also had to track down over the last few months whatever was making my eyelids swell whenever I had a cocktail. (Really, just ONE.)

It turns out that it's the Peach Schnapps, which is super sad.  I love that stuff in a cocktail.

 

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot?

WHY am I having a reaction to something that is supposed to be safe.  

I swear, I'm having to track down where I'm getting it from, the schnapps thing took ages to figure out.

Eyelid puffiness in middle-age is NOT okay.  I had to track that nonsense down, and test it...super sad face! :(

Advice from the people that take this seriously would be GREAT.

 

Thanks!

Cara

 

 

I don't have one in front of me, but I read the ingredients on a roll of the regular mints and "wheat" was staring me in the face.

Here's a list of ingredients I found online for "Mint Mentos":

sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, rice starch, gum arabic, sucrose esters of fatty acides, gellan gum, natural flavors

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello!

Just found this board (via a search for Mentos and Gluten reaction).  

WAY happy to be here.

So yesterday I had an episode of fatigue...and it was totally gluten fatigue, and it was around 30 minutes after I ate a roll of Mentos...(which I didn't check ahead... because they're Mentos.)

As soon as I started going cross-eyed, I went looking for the package, and it says glucose - so I look it up, and all over the place online I'm told that wheat glucose shouldn't cause a reaction.

 

I was at home and the only other thing I had eaten was a banana and black coffee.

 

I also had to track down over the last few months whatever was making my eyelids swell whenever I had a cocktail. (Really, just ONE.)

It turns out that it's the Peach Schnapps, which is super sad.  I love that stuff in a cocktail.

 

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot?

WHY am I having a reaction to something that is supposed to be safe.  

I swear, I'm having to track down where I'm getting it from, the schnapps thing took ages to figure out.

Eyelid puffiness in middle-age is NOT okay.  I had to track that nonsense down, and test it...super sad face! :(

Advice from the people that take this seriously would be GREAT.

 

Thanks!

Cara

 

 

Just a head's up - all of the info on this thread is about 4 years old.  Ingredients can change in that amount of time.

 

I have never seen a Schnapps with gluten - but, in all fairness, I have only looked at 2 brands. Swollen eyelids sounds more like an allergy than a Celiac reaction.

 

I don't eat Mentos, so I don't know what is in them.  If they contain wheat, they must list it - so I guess the moral of this story is - read the ingredients always?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am really surprised about the cask being sealed with wheat.  I count on wine being the only safe thing I can have sometimes when I'm out with friends.

 

We have had several threads about this.  There has been no evidence that there is gluten in wine.  No wine maker would let flour or any type of glue get into the wine.  Also, many types & less expensive wines aren't even put into wooden barrels.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We have had several threads about this.  There has been no evidence that there is gluten in wine.  No wine maker would let flour or any type of glue get into the wine.  Also, many types & less expensive wines aren't even put into wooden barrels.

 

That's reassuring - The ability (and excuse) to drink wine is my silver lining!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...