Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

GFLindsey

Shocking Places You've Found Gluten!

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I don't have one in front of me, but I read the ingredients on a roll of the regular mints and "wheat" was staring me in the face.

Here's a list of ingredients I found online for "Mint Mentos":

sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, rice starch, gum arabic, sucrose esters of fatty acides, gellan gum, natural flavors

But wheat glucose syrup is okay to eat. At least it is in Australia where I live.

Wheat glucose syrup is so refined that there is no detectable trace of gluten left. It's like Dextrose (from wheat) and Caramel colour 150D (from wheat). They are the safe wheat exceptions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is very likely a misunderstanding by the person who said this. This myth has been going around for as long as I have been gluten-free, but in that time nobody has ever found actual confirmation of a product where wheat is used. Wheat is used in baking because it sticks together. It would make a poor anti-caking agent. If an anti-caking agent is used at all, it would be cellulose powder (which is gluten-free). Most shredded cheeses are just that: shredded cheese and nothing else.

It came right from the manager of the restaurant, who added that wheat was in all their sauces as thickeners and in all the meat marinades as soy sauce. Personally, I've never seen wheat in shredded cheese at the grocery store.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But wheat glucose syrup is okay to eat. At least it is in Australia where I live.

Wheat glucose syrup is so refined that there is no detectable trace of gluten left. It's like Dextrose (from wheat) and Caramel colour 150D (from wheat). They are the safe wheat exceptions.

Wiki had this rather interesting list, the amount of gluten (in parts per million) left at various stages of processing:

Wheat Flour (80,000ppm) > Wheat Starch (200ppm) > Dextrin > Maltodextrin > Glucose Syrup (<5ppm) > Dextrose > Caramel Color

So since wheat glucose syrup is less than 5 ppm, it's considered "gluten-free", even in Australia, a country that requires a product to be less than 5ppm to be labeled "gluten-free".

OK. I panicked. Any time I see that word "wheat" in a list of ingredients, I run the other way (unless the word "buck" is in front of it). :blink: But now I know that wheat glucose syrup, dextrose and caramel color are all ok.

Fresh breath can be mine again! :lol:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wiki had this rather interesting list, the amount of gluten (in parts per million) left at various stages of processing:

Wheat Flour (80,000ppm) > Wheat Starch (200ppm) > Dextrin > Maltodextrin > Glucose Syrup (<5ppm) > Dextrose > Caramel Color

So since wheat glucose syrup is less than 5 ppm, it's considered "gluten-free", even in Australia, a country that requires a product to be less than 5ppm to be labeled "gluten-free".

OK. I panicked. Any time I see that word "wheat" in a list of ingredients, I run the other way (unless the word "buck" is in front of it). :blink: But now I know that wheat glucose syrup, dextrose and caramel color are all ok.

Fresh breath can be mine again! :lol:

The way I remember it is that anything ending in "...ose" (as in glucose or dextrose) is okay even if it is followed by the word wheat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

geeesh and people wonder why I am so afraid to eat away from home. I hope I get less freaked out as I adjust to the gluten-free thing, eventually I am going to forget a snack and have to eat something someone else cooked :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello!

Just found this board (via a search for Mentos and Gluten reaction).  

WAY happy to be here.

So yesterday I had an episode of fatigue...and it was totally gluten fatigue, and it was around 30 minutes after I ate a roll of Mentos...(which I didn't check ahead... because they're Mentos.)

As soon as I started going cross-eyed, I went looking for the package, and it says glucose - so I look it up, and all over the place online I'm told that wheat glucose shouldn't cause a reaction.

 

I was at home and the only other thing I had eaten was a banana and black coffee.

 

I also had to track down over the last few months whatever was making my eyelids swell whenever I had a cocktail. (Really, just ONE.)

It turns out that it's the Peach Schnapps, which is super sad.  I love that stuff in a cocktail.

 

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot?

WHY am I having a reaction to something that is supposed to be safe.  

I swear, I'm having to track down where I'm getting it from, the schnapps thing took ages to figure out.

Eyelid puffiness in middle-age is NOT okay.  I had to track that nonsense down, and test it...super sad face! :(

Advice from the people that take this seriously would be GREAT.

 

Thanks!

Cara

 

 

I don't have one in front of me, but I read the ingredients on a roll of the regular mints and "wheat" was staring me in the face.

Here's a list of ingredients I found online for "Mint Mentos":

sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, rice starch, gum arabic, sucrose esters of fatty acides, gellan gum, natural flavors

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello!

Just found this board (via a search for Mentos and Gluten reaction).  

WAY happy to be here.

So yesterday I had an episode of fatigue...and it was totally gluten fatigue, and it was around 30 minutes after I ate a roll of Mentos...(which I didn't check ahead... because they're Mentos.)

As soon as I started going cross-eyed, I went looking for the package, and it says glucose - so I look it up, and all over the place online I'm told that wheat glucose shouldn't cause a reaction.

 

I was at home and the only other thing I had eaten was a banana and black coffee.

 

I also had to track down over the last few months whatever was making my eyelids swell whenever I had a cocktail. (Really, just ONE.)

It turns out that it's the Peach Schnapps, which is super sad.  I love that stuff in a cocktail.

 

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot?

WHY am I having a reaction to something that is supposed to be safe.  

I swear, I'm having to track down where I'm getting it from, the schnapps thing took ages to figure out.

Eyelid puffiness in middle-age is NOT okay.  I had to track that nonsense down, and test it...super sad face! :(

Advice from the people that take this seriously would be GREAT.

 

Thanks!

Cara

 

 

Just a head's up - all of the info on this thread is about 4 years old.  Ingredients can change in that amount of time.

 

I have never seen a Schnapps with gluten - but, in all fairness, I have only looked at 2 brands. Swollen eyelids sounds more like an allergy than a Celiac reaction.

 

I don't eat Mentos, so I don't know what is in them.  If they contain wheat, they must list it - so I guess the moral of this story is - read the ingredients always?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am really surprised about the cask being sealed with wheat.  I count on wine being the only safe thing I can have sometimes when I'm out with friends.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am really surprised about the cask being sealed with wheat.  I count on wine being the only safe thing I can have sometimes when I'm out with friends.

 

We have had several threads about this.  There has been no evidence that there is gluten in wine.  No wine maker would let flour or any type of glue get into the wine.  Also, many types & less expensive wines aren't even put into wooden barrels.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We have had several threads about this.  There has been no evidence that there is gluten in wine.  No wine maker would let flour or any type of glue get into the wine.  Also, many types & less expensive wines aren't even put into wooden barrels.

 

That's reassuring - The ability (and excuse) to drink wine is my silver lining!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Top Posters +

  • Upcoming Events

    • March 20, 2019 04:00 PM Until 08:00 AM
      0  
       
       
       
      Celiac Emotional Healing Support Group
       
       
       
      Again you are invited to join Johnny Patout, LCSW for Baton Rouge's first emotional healing support group meeting to assist those living with celiac disease manage the emotional challenges so many of us face. Most often the emotional disturbances include depression, disinterest in normal activities, insomnia, grief, mood changes, anxiety, inability to concentrate, extreme concern about managing a gluten-free lifestyle and other emotional and behavioral challenges.
       
      The professionals at Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center created the emotional healing support group to give us a safe place to begin to process our emotions and support each other as we heal emotionally while managing celiac disease and the resulting autoimmune disorders.
       
      The emotional healing support group meets every Thursday, 6:00-7:00pm, at the Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center of Baton Rouge. Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center is located at 4637 Jamestown Avenue, Baton Rouge, Suite B-1. Suite B-1 is upstairs.
       
      The support group is free and open everyone managing celiac disease. For more information: emotionalhealingforceliacs@hotmail.com
    • March 24, 2019 Until March 27, 2019
      0  
      NEW ORLEANS GOURMET GLUTEN-FREE mini GETAWAY    March 24 ~ 27, 2019   We have arranged a fun and Gluten-free food filled mini in the city known for it's food and fun.  We have arranged to eat many of the famous dishes that aren't usually Gluten-free at a few of the World Renown restaurants.   Staying at the Royal Sonesta Hotel on Bourbon Street in the center of the French Quarter, you'll be able to enjoy the ambiance of the city at all hours.   Our itinerary will include a Luxury Coach tour of the city and surrounding area - Admission to The National World War II Museum, including the Tom Hanks" 4D film "Beyond All Boundaries" - an exciting Airboat ride and tour through the Bayou.      This it the 3rd time we have visited New Orleans and it has always been well attended, so join us even if you've been there before.  Check out our website for the complete itinerary and cost.    Due to contractual obligations we must have 20 participants by October 31, 2018 to make this a go.      If you have any questions just give us a call at 410-939-3218.  Bob & Ruth info@bobandruths.com (410) 939-3218
    • March 30, 2019 Until March 31, 2019
      0  
      Nourished Festival is a family-friendly event with 10 locations across the US. Attendees will be able to sample food, health and beauty products, meet with companies, learn about the most current food lifestyles, receive coupons and attend educational sessions with industry experts. 
      Nourished Festival, managed by The Nourished Group and presented by Enjoy Life Foods, is the largest gluten-free, allergy-friendly and specialty diet event in the US, with 10 locations including.
      ABOUT THE NOURISHED FESTIVALS
      Managed by The Nourished Group, formerly The Gluten Free Media Group, The Nourished Festivals are the largest and fastest growing special diet consumer events in the United States. Started in 2007, the events have expanded from one to ten cities throughout the country. The festivals cater to anyone looking to lead a healthier lifestyle or those who follow a specialty diet due to autoimmune conditions, food sensitivities, allergies or intolerances. Offerings including Paleo, Keto, Plant-Based, Gluten-Free, Allergen-Friendly and Nut-Free products. The events provide the opportunity for attendees to sample and purchase new products, receive coupons, meet with brand ambassadors and attend educational classes with industry experts. For more information, visit http://www.nourishedfestival.com 
       
Dziekuje bardzo for that information,, CyclingLady! And you are correct, at least in my case --- I have been EXTREMELY reluctant to eat out in restaurants since going gluten free last year, and have only done so a small handful of times, under very strict conditions and only after talking to both the serving staff and the chefs/cooks at some length.  Now, on the Fasano Diet, it is simply not an option. Honestly, I do not understand this recent mania for eating out ALL the time!  Not on
  • Blog Entries

  • ×
    ×
    • Create New...