Mj_Toronto

Gluten Free Pasta

Rate this topic

hi there,

i came here to ask a question about gluten free pasta...i've been eating rizopia brown rice pasta for many years now, but i'd like to try something different

i was wondering if anyone knows a good online store with good prices on a variety of diferent kinds of gluten free pastas..i would really like to try some potatoe based pasta but someone told me you can only buy it in the US..

from the places i've found..all the websites, the prices for gluten free pasta are rediculously high...

i've been buying 454g bags of rice pasta on average of $2.30...most places that i've checked out charge that for half the size (227g bag)

so any help would be great

thanks

There are some oriental noodles that are gluten free. Still rice based, but a different taste. I've got a package here, the brand is Young & Young Trading Co Ltd, its a Canadian company. They are Rice Vermicelle noodles. Real Canadian Super Store has corn based noodles. The colour is a little off-putting, they are like neon orange but when i read the ingredients they were just corn. I haven't tried them, and they are not at all RCSS locations. I think they have some other different types of gluten-free pasta at some of them too.

For online, have you tried http://www.glutenfreemall.com/catalog/pastas-noodles-c-29.html ?

thanks for the replies

to be honest the problem with me is that i have a food malabsorption issue rather than a celiac.although a few years ago i was tested because i thought i might be one

anyway the rice vermacelli noodles sound good i'll try that next..i've considered the corn based, i heard they are thicker and not as delicate as the other types but i will give that a go also..there is a superstore close to me so that works out

i was at my health food store the othe day and the guy said that i most likely will not find any potatoe based pasta here in canada

i will keep searching for websites with the best prices

thanks again