bridgetm

Gluten-Free In The Twin Cities?

Rate this topic

I'm still new to this and am wondering if anyone has had any experience shopping for gluten-free foods in central Minnesota? I live near Stillwater and have found only one gluten-free store (Woodbury) plus the limited number of aisles at co-ops and a few shelves at the higher end supermarkets. I really wish I could find more variety though. I go to Wal-Mart for cereals and cereal bars; Kowalski's for Lara bars and those other meal in a pouch type snacks; the Stillwater co-op for meats and some frozen things and then Tailor Made Nutrition in Woodbury for Udi's bread and those miscellaneous things I had no idea could be made gluten-free. However, I'd really like a little more variety and these places are so spread out that I usually decide which category I'm lowest on and shop for that thing only, save the rest for another day.

Anyone else in this area? Any tips or tricks for a new shopper on a budget? (I have a feeling this would be easier if not financially limited.)

Have absolutely no budget advice. It is expensive. Eat less? lol

Fresh and Natural in Hudson, WI is good for gluten free shopping. Any price label on the shelf with a red dot is a gluten free item. Makes it easy to shop. Ask for their shoppers card. It offers 10% off when filled. Wednesday is senior day, 5% off is you are 55 or over. I'm glad I'm old! If you are looking for something not on the shelf ask for Sharon, she may be able to order it for you.

Family Fresh has a lot of gluten free items, both stores, Hudson and New Richmond. Deli has gluten free deli meat. They also have a dietitian who can help you if you call and make an appointment. She floats between the two stores. Her name is Mary Jo Brunner. I've been to some of her classes, she's a great resource.

I haven't been to the 'all gluten free' store in Woodbury. I'll be there this weekend scrapping. Maybe I'll stop to see if they have some lunch for me while I scrap.