Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

taszoo

Drinking Scotch Whisky With Malt

Recommended Posts

I have just been diagnosed as a celiac and I was wondering if anybody knows if I can still drink scotch whisky with malt in it. Such as Chivas Regal or Glenfiddich. I am having difficulty find any information about what happens when the malt is added.


Taszoo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I have just been diagnosed as a celiac and I was wondering if anybody knows if I can still drink scotch whisky with malt in it. Such as Chivas Regal or Glenfiddich. I am having difficulty find any information about what happens when the malt is added.

All distilled spirits are Gluten Free.

The protein does not pass over during distillation.

https://www.celiac.com/articles.html/gluten-free-alcoholic-beverages-r218/

Best Regards,

David


Chronically Ill and lost 56lbs in 3 Months Prior to Diagnosis.

Diagnosed in Nov 2005 after Biopsy and Blood Tests

Cannot tolerate Codex Wheat Starch.

Self Taught Baker.

Bake everything from scratch using naturally gluten-free ingredients.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Although beware of some blends. I have heard, but not verified, that some companies put in a bit of undistilled mash to balance the flavor between batches.


"But then, in all honesty, if scientists don't play god, who will?"

- James Watson

My sources are unreliable, but their information is fascinating.

- Ashleigh Brilliant

Leap, and the net will appear.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All distilled spirits are Gluten Free.

The protein does not pass over during distillation.

https://www.celiac.com/articles.html/gluten-free-alcoholic-beverages-r218/

Best Regards,

David

My gut tells me differently. I've gotten violent gluten reactions from scotch.


Gluten free is not so bad! If you are new, hang it there, it gets easier!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I drink quite a bit of single malt and have never had a reaction.


"But then, in all honesty, if scientists don't play god, who will?"

- James Watson

My sources are unreliable, but their information is fascinating.

- Ashleigh Brilliant

Leap, and the net will appear.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My gut tells me differently. I've gotten violent gluten reactions from scotch.

There are some of us who will react to even distilled gluten grains. I also am one of them. If someone is newly diagnosed IMHO it is best to be completely healed before trying them. Chances are you will be fine but some like Wolicki and myself might as well eat a wheat based pizza. They have the same effect.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am super sensitive to most things but I've had no problem with any single malts which I find interesting since some other super sensitives do seem to react to single malt.


Undiagnosed for 20 years since first symptoms.

March 2009 - Negative Blood work

April 24, 2009 - Gluten-free

April 29, 2009 - Notably positive response to gluten-free Diet.

May 2, 2009 Dairy Free

May 6, 2009, Soy Free

May 27, 2009 Enterolab Results: Positive Anti-gliadin IgA, tTG IgA, Casein, HLA DQ2.2, HLA DQ8

June 4, 2009 Refined sugar free (except Raw Honey, pure Maple syrup)

June 29, 2009, Dad diagnosed Celiac by GI specialist via blood work and dietary response.

July 2009, Dad's gene test: double DQ8! Thanks Dad - I'll try to get you something nice for Christmas! :)

August 8, 2009 Really Soy free this time - Thanks Blue Diamond for the soy lecithin in the almond milk! :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do OK with Irish and Scottish single malts too, and I've gotten pretty sensitive lately.

I wonder whether occasional issues with whiskey are from the casks. Wikipedia says that while sherry casks are preferred and old bourbon casks are common, red wine and even beer casks can be used. There's an old discussion on here about flour paste being used to seal oak casks, and an old beer cask is obviously an issue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have just been diagnosed as a celiac and I was wondering if anybody knows if I can still drink scotch whisky with malt in it. Such as Chivas Regal or Glenfiddich. I am having difficulty find any information about what happens when the malt is added.

I second the recommendation to skip it for now. Give yourself a few months to adjust to the diet and get a handle on it. I'm one of those who reacts violently to anything distilled. You may react to it, you may not, but early on, I'd recommend erring on the side of caution.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites