Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

ewp11100

Labeled gluten-free But Had Caramel Coloring

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I bought rice cakes at the store which had a gluten-free label. When I can home I notice they have Caramel coloring. Should I trust that what ever the caramel coloring is derived from is not wheat?

TIA I'm a newbie!

Erin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I bought rice cakes at the store which had a gluten-free label. When I can home I notice they have Caramel coloring. Should I trust that what ever the caramel coloring is derived from is not wheat?

TIA I'm a newbie!

Erin

Caramel color is not a concern for people with Celiac. If an ingredient was derived from wheat, it must be listed on the lable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lisa,

Does this include drinks as well? For example, teas?

Yes, it does Kim :)

For those learning the twists and turns of the diet, I would recommend www.CeceliasMarketplace.com, a Gluten Free Grocery Guide that is published annually.

After that first year, you will learn to read labels, which is the best way to purchase food and eat safely.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, it does Kim :)

For those learning the twists and turns of the diet, I would recommend www.CeceliasMarketplace.com, a Gluten Free Grocery Guide that is published annually.

After that first year, you will learn to read labels, which is the best way to purchase food and eat safely.

Wow Lisa! thanks for the website... Very inforamtive and helpful!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, it does Kim :)

For those learning the twists and turns of the diet, I would recommend www.CeceliasMarketplace.com, a Gluten Free Grocery Guide that is published annually.

After that first year, you will learn to read labels, which is the best way to purchase food and eat safely.

Wow Lisa! thanks for the website... Very inforamtive and helpful!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I avoid it unless I call and find out what it is made from. From the Unsafe list on this website:

http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsafe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Unsafe-Ingredients/Page1.html

The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet). Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I avoid it unless I call and find out what it is made from. From the Unsafe list on this website:

http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsafe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Unsafe-Ingredients/Page1.html

The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet). Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.

http://www.glutenfreeliving.com/ingredient.php

Caramel color

Corn is used to make caramel color in the U.S. The FDA does permit use of barley malt but all major caramel color producers say corn makes a better product.

http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/celiacdiseasefaqs/f/Caramel_Coloring.htm

BUT registered dietitian Shelley Case, who is on the medical advisory board of the Celiac Disease Foundation, the Gluten Intolerance Group, and the Canadian Celiac Association, told me that gluten-containing ingredients are no longer used to make caramel coloring in North America, and from my own correspondence with major manufacturers of caramel color that indeed seems to be the case. While gluten-containing ingredients can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies are now using glucose from corn, or sometimes sucrose (table sugar). In Europe, Shelley says, companies use glucose syrup that's derived from wheat starch, but the caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://www.glutenfreeliving.com/ingredient.php

Caramel color

Corn is used to make caramel color in the U.S. The FDA does permit use of barley malt but all major caramel color producers say corn makes a better product.

http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/celiacdiseasefaqs/f/Caramel_Coloring.htm

BUT registered dietitian Shelley Case, who is on the medical advisory board of the Celiac Disease Foundation, the Gluten Intolerance Group, and the Canadian Celiac Association, told me that gluten-containing ingredients are no longer used to make caramel coloring in North America, and from my own correspondence with major manufacturers of caramel color that indeed seems to be the case. While gluten-containing ingredients can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies are now using glucose from corn, or sometimes sucrose (table sugar). In Europe, Shelley says, companies use glucose syrup that's derived from wheat starch, but the caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.

Scott got his info straight from the FDA website (I just checked to be sure). At no place in the FDA website does it say that corn is the most common source but it of course could be.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In addition, as mentioned in the above quote, caramel color is so highly processed, any gluten, regardless of the source, is removed during that process.

Caramel color should be safe the the general Celiac community to consume.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Caramel Coloring in FOOD must be labeled if it was derived from wheat. In other products, I call just to be on the safe side. But, if it is a food item, labeled gluten free (with caramel coloring) but no mention of wheat, I would not worry. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.
[Emphasis in original]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Caramel color is safe for celiacs. Period.

I disagree, at least as far as my own system is concerned. I've had several reactions that were tied back to caramel coloring.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I disagree, at least as far as my own system is concerned. I've had several reactions that were tied back to caramel coloring.

Same for me. I avoid all sugars/starches and all their derivates unless their origin is clearly stated on the label. "Better safe than sorry" is my motto when it comes to eating processed food. For the same reasons I avoid vinegars - I don't believe white vinegar is any safer than grain vodka or whisky (both make me sick).

But as for the original question, I wouldn't worry about caramel colour if it's labelled gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is an old discussion, but nothing has changed. I'm sorry you had a bad reaction to something containing caramel color, but is gluten-free. Perhaps you reacted to phosphoric acid, which is frequently found in products that also contain caramel color. It is a stomach irritant under some conditions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Top Posters +

  • Upcoming Events

    • March 24, 2019 Until March 27, 2019
      0  
      NEW ORLEANS GOURMET GLUTEN-FREE mini GETAWAY    March 24 ~ 27, 2019   We have arranged a fun and Gluten-free food filled mini in the city known for it's food and fun.  We have arranged to eat many of the famous dishes that aren't usually Gluten-free at a few of the World Renown restaurants.   Staying at the Royal Sonesta Hotel on Bourbon Street in the center of the French Quarter, you'll be able to enjoy the ambiance of the city at all hours.   Our itinerary will include a Luxury Coach tour of the city and surrounding area - Admission to The National World War II Museum, including the Tom Hanks" 4D film "Beyond All Boundaries" - an exciting Airboat ride and tour through the Bayou.      This it the 3rd time we have visited New Orleans and it has always been well attended, so join us even if you've been there before.  Check out our website for the complete itinerary and cost.    Due to contractual obligations we must have 20 participants by October 31, 2018 to make this a go.      If you have any questions just give us a call at 410-939-3218.  Bob & Ruth info@bobandruths.com (410) 939-3218
    • March 27, 2019 04:00 PM Until 08:00 AM
      0  
       
       
       
      Celiac Emotional Healing Support Group
       
       
       
      Again you are invited to join Johnny Patout, LCSW for Baton Rouge's first emotional healing support group meeting to assist those living with celiac disease manage the emotional challenges so many of us face. Most often the emotional disturbances include depression, disinterest in normal activities, insomnia, grief, mood changes, anxiety, inability to concentrate, extreme concern about managing a gluten-free lifestyle and other emotional and behavioral challenges.
       
      The professionals at Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center created the emotional healing support group to give us a safe place to begin to process our emotions and support each other as we heal emotionally while managing celiac disease and the resulting autoimmune disorders.
       
      The emotional healing support group meets every Thursday, 6:00-7:00pm, at the Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center of Baton Rouge. Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center is located at 4637 Jamestown Avenue, Baton Rouge, Suite B-1. Suite B-1 is upstairs.
       
      The support group is free and open everyone managing celiac disease. For more information: emotionalhealingforceliacs@hotmail.com
    • March 30, 2019 Until March 31, 2019
      0  
      Nourished Festival is a family-friendly event with 10 locations across the US. Attendees will be able to sample food, health and beauty products, meet with companies, learn about the most current food lifestyles, receive coupons and attend educational sessions with industry experts. 
      Nourished Festival, managed by The Nourished Group and presented by Enjoy Life Foods, is the largest gluten-free, allergy-friendly and specialty diet event in the US, with 10 locations including.
      ABOUT THE NOURISHED FESTIVALS
      Managed by The Nourished Group, formerly The Gluten Free Media Group, The Nourished Festivals are the largest and fastest growing special diet consumer events in the United States. Started in 2007, the events have expanded from one to ten cities throughout the country. The festivals cater to anyone looking to lead a healthier lifestyle or those who follow a specialty diet due to autoimmune conditions, food sensitivities, allergies or intolerances. Offerings including Paleo, Keto, Plant-Based, Gluten-Free, Allergen-Friendly and Nut-Free products. The events provide the opportunity for attendees to sample and purchase new products, receive coupons, meet with brand ambassadors and attend educational classes with industry experts. For more information, visit http://www.nourishedfestival.com 
       
Thanks Posterboy 🙂 When I was struggling to get any psychiatric care a while back, I self-treated with Omega-3-6-9 and megadose B vits and vitamin D, and they didn't seem to help much but I'm always open to trying. I'm hoping my GP will be happy to run a test for vitamin deficiencies if I turn out to have celiac disease, and then I'll know what I'm working with. I'm still kind of hoping somebody's going to turn up and say they've come across people scoring as high as I did on the
  • Blog Entries

  • ×
    ×
    • Create New...