Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I have just been not going up for communion. I though maybe I'd be okay with a little once and boy did I pay for that. I am not sure what my options are though?? I did google a bit and kind of got confused. Anyone?? I know I need to talk to our pastor, but for some reason I've been nervous to??

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe that there are options available - gluten-free wafers which can be ordered in or the option of making your own and getting the pastor to bless them. Definately dont feel embarressed, I'm sure they would want to help you if they can.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

gluten-free wafers are not completely gluten-free. The Catholic church says that they must contain wheat to be like the bread Jesus had. We could argue that current US wheat is not what Jesus had but it isn't going to make a difference. That said, taking the wine is the same as the wafer. I follow up to Communion and when the person in front of me is getting wafer, I step over to the wine. Watch where the cup with the piece of wafer goes, that is not the line to be in. I emailed my priest and talked to a Eucharistic minister and they both said no one will make a fuss about this. Might ask your priest in your email or phone call to tell the E ministers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What Karen said. Talk to your priest, it's good to let him know you're out there.

Making your own isn't an option for Catholics.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

gluten-free wafers are not completely gluten-free. The Catholic church says that they must contain wheat to be like the bread Jesus had. We could argue that current US wheat is not what Jesus had but it isn't going to make a difference. That said, taking the wine is the same as the wafer. I follow up to Communion and when the person in front of me is getting wafer, I step over to the wine. Watch where the cup with the piece of wafer goes, that is not the line to be in. I emailed my priest and talked to a Eucharistic minister and they both said no one will make a fuss about this. Might ask your priest in your email or phone call to tell the E ministers.

Hmm, in our diocease I can't remember then ever serving wine, maybe once or twice a year. I will just have to call our priest. I know a friend mentioned a priest in a town about 30 minutes from here who was diagnosed with Celiac. He might be a good person to talk to. We live in a small town and I am not sure our priest would know much, but you never know.

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm Catholic. You can't substitute rice wafers for wheat in the Catholic Church. And one chalice will always have a small piece placed in (though it may be the priest's chalice). I spoke with our priest about it, and it is perfectly acceptable to recieve from the chalice only- you are still recieving the full sacrament. If they don't typically offer a chalice, which is pretty unusual, but if it happens, talk to your priest and he can offer a chalice for you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is a very low gluten host that is made by Benedictine sisters at their convent in Clyde, Missouri. They have a website benedictinesisters.org

My son (and 4 others in our parish) receive these. Our parish provides them.

We started by talking to the priest upon my son's diagnosis 5 years ago, and at that time there was already another parishioner receiving them. We just check in with the Mass coordinator when we come to mass, and they get one out of the refrigerator and put it in a pyx to keep it separate, then my son always goes to the communion line of the priest.

When my son was in grade school, he went to a Catholic school, and we had a similar arrangement, except we ordered the hosts and supplied them to the school. So at that time he went to school mass twice a week in addition to weekend mass.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm Catholic. You can't substitute rice wafers for wheat in the Catholic Church. And one chalice will always have a small piece placed in (though it may be the priest's chalice). I spoke with our priest about it, and it is perfectly acceptable to recieve from the chalice only- you are still recieving the full sacrament. If they don't typically offer a chalice, which is pretty unusual, but if it happens, talk to your priest and he can offer a chalice for you.

I'm not Catholic..but I have "older relitives who were..and have seen the practice your speaking about many times.

my question is..and forgive my ignorance...but if all these people are puting a small bit of desolvable waffer on thier tounge...then all drinking a small sip of wine (like in my Grandmas church)....arn't you going to get contaminated anyway? just thought I'd throw that out there...and gluten aside...what about mono? or is that sacraligous thinking?

Also GOD made you what you are for whatever reason...don't you think he loves you...even if you don't partisipate...I don't think he'd mind if you skiped this for health reasons...or is it what your afraid others will think of you! :(

your still in church ...celabrating and participating your Religion!!give your self a break!!like the others said...talk to your pastor..thats what he's there for!!! I'm sure he'll understand...and if they shun you for NOT taking communion...you in the WRONG church!!!and you don't need the hypocract anyway!!! there are other catholics out there who are more understanding to your needs...take care of your self in every way...GOD understands...he made you1111 :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×