Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I know I'm probably posting this in the wrong area...but here goes anyway. I think I got gluten and looking at my food logs the only thing it could have been were either baked beans or coleslaw. The coleslaw was purchased at a deli and it had a vinegar taste, however I can't figure out what the heck would be in coleslaw that would contain gluten...any thoughts?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If it's from the deli, there could be a lot of cc issues. There's mayo in coleslaw dressing, they could be double dipping into the mayo jar to make sandwiches, pasta salads etc... There is vinegar in the dressing as well, but should be OK as long as it's not a malt vinegar. Did you get your baked beans at the deli also? Lots of brands contain wheat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No...the baked beans came from a can, but I was in such a rush, I didn't even notice the brand name. As for the coleslaw, it definately had a strong vinegar taste, but I'm not sure if they make there own, or get it by bulk...I'm think there own...but I'm going to call.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I bet on cross-contamination as the most probable source. Personally I wouldn't dare eating anything from deli.

If there was mayo then it could also be source of gluten or cross-contamination.

Third is the vinegar. Do you react to vodka/whisky? If so, you might react to white vinegar as well. (I do)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My vote goes to beans and then cross contamination of the coleslaw. The deli staff could have prepared it wearing the same gloves they used to make pasta salad, for example. I've also seen wheat starch in several different kinds of beans (usually chili beans, but baked I've never looked at closely. We buy Bush's, which are gluten-free).

We generally avoid deli food purchases because the risk of cross contamination is so high.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We buy Bush's, which are gluten-free).

Not all of them any more.... Just make sure to read the label. If it's in there, it will be listed!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

really...I thought all Bush Beans were gluten-free...I didn't know you had to read the label with them! thanks....I really don't know what kind of beans she served that day, I forgot to look at the can.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

really...I thought all Bush Beans were gluten-free...I didn't know you had to read the label with them! thanks....I really don't know what kind of beans she served that day, I forgot to look at the can.

This is their current statement:

http://www.bushbeans.com/products/productqa.php#glutenfree

But always look, just in case they change....could happen at any time <_<

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is their current statement:

http://www.bushbeans.com/products/productqa.php#glutenfree

But always look, just in case they change....could happen at any time <_<

That's actually relatively out of date because the Bush's Chili Beans switched from wheat starch to corn starch (at least where I buy them) and I always double check before purchasing. We buy the chili beans (not the chili) in order to make our own chili.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×