Jump to content
Celiac Disease FAQ | This site uses cookies GDPR notice. Read more... ×
  • Sign Up

Land O Lakes Cheese

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I am a newbie here and to a gluten-free lifestyle, so I am not well-versed in gluten-free food products or ingredients. I love cheese, and a fave in our house is Land O Lakes brand. I emailed LOL about their products and this is the reply I got...not sure now if I trust their deli cheese.


Dear Beth,

Thank you for visiting the Land O'Lakes Web Site and taking the time to contact us.

We understand your concern about potential food intolerances. Land O'Lakes, Inc. strives to provide complete and accurate ingredient information on its labels. For any specific product, we feel the best source of this information is the product ingredient listing on the package.

To date, the FDA and USDA have not defined the term "gluten free." Therefore, to the best of our knowledge, the ingredients in our Process Cheese (example: American Processed Cheese) and our natural dairy products (examples: natural cheese and butter) do not contain gluten.

Listed below are organizations that can provide more information about food intolerances:

Celiac Sprue Association: www.csaceliacs.org or toll free 1-877-272-4272

The Gluten Intolerance Group: www.gluten.net or 253-833-6655

International Food Information Council Foundation: www.foodinsight.org

This information does not imply any endorsements or affiliation with Land O'Lakes, Inc.

Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future. If you need to respond to this email, please use the "Reply" button.


Land O'Lakes Consumer Affairs


Ok, does that sound reassuring to you?! And does anyone know of any certified/labeled gluten free cheese other than certain swiss cheeses?

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

It sounds fine to me. Basically, they are just covering their asses. They can not say an item is gluten free, but they can say it does not contain any gluten. The whole thing is just ridiculous!

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't seen LOL cheese but I haven't found any with gluten ingredients yet. Might be a problem with the spreads or a flavor?

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

This answer means the cheese is gluten-free. Virtually every cheese out there, even the veined ones, is gluten-free.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now