This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Enterolab Testing & Validity?

vbecton

vbecton Explorer

Hey guys! I'm still very new to this whole celiac disease thing, but I've just received my Enterolab box to gene test & test for gluten sensitivity...plus other things. I ordered this out of desperation for some sort of answers after all my blood work has repeatedly come back negative. As with so many people on here, I just want some answers. I'm currently gluten free, so I refuse to do a gluten challenge just for a biopsy.

So here's my question. My local Celiac support group isn't keen on Enterolab and said his testing methods were antiquated. From what I've read about Enterolab, it seems his testing methods are progressive and he seems to be able to find far more info about gluten intolerance than any other lab out there. What are your thoughts about my Celiac group not supporting Enterolab's testing?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Skylark Collaborator

If you look in the biomedical literature, there is virtually nothing about stool antibody diagnostic testing. Enterolab has made the decision to only patent their tests, rather than doing proper controlled studies and publishing in the peer-reviewed scientific literature. This means that anyone with good scientific training (like me) will regard Enterolab with deep suspicion.