Jump to content
  • Sign Up
jjc

Andy Capp's Hot Fries?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Just wondered if anyone knows if Andy Capp's hot fries are gluten free. I know that they used to contain hydrolyzed wheat gluten , but while I was at the grocery store today, I decided to read the ingredients label out of curiosity, and I didn't see any wheat ingredients listed. The label now says "contains milk". So..does anyone know if these are safe now?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Responding to a real old thread, but figured i'd share.  Response from today 11.27.17

 

Hello David,
 

Thank you for your email regarding our ANDY CAPP'S Cheddar Fries. This product does not contain wheat but has not been tested to validate that it is gluten free.
 

We understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to obtain accurate information about our food to help plan their meals and diets. We continue to look for ways to meet the dietary needs of our consumers.

Since wheat is a major food allergen, if it is used in the product, it will be listed in the "contains" statement following the ingredients list. The flour used in many of our products is wheat flour, and you should avoid these products if you have gluten sensitivities. If any ingredient in the product includes rye or barley, it will be listed in parentheses immediately following the ingredient. Oats do not contain gluten, but they frequently have been exposed to wheat or barley and are not recommended for celiac patients. If Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavors, or Spices listed in the ingredients list contain wheat, rye or barley, these ingredients will be listed in parenthesis immediately following the ingredient. Some fermented or distilled products such as vinegar may be derived from wheat. Most of the vinegar in our products is distilled, and through the distilling process protein gluten is removed.

The following brands are validated as gluten-free with gluten-free printed on their labels:
Egg Beaters
Hunt's Tomatoes, Hunt's No Salt Added Tomato Sauce and No Salt Added Paste (excluding Hunt's Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes 2700037800, Tomato Sauces, Tomato Paste, No Salt Added Resealable Tomato Sauce, Pasta Sauces and Ketchup)
Swiss Miss Cocoa
Healthy Choice Café Steamers: Cajun Style Chicken & Shrimp (7265500112), Café Steamers Beef Merlot (7265500102) and Café Steamers Homestyle Chicken & Potatoes (7265500118)
Popcorn: Act II microwave; Orville Redenbacher Popping Corn (kernels) and microwave; Jiffy Pop
Pudding: Swiss Miss & Snack Pack Pudding and Juicy Gels, excludes those containing Tapioca
Poppycock - Pecan Delight, Original, Cashew
Crunch N Munch: Caramel, Buttery Toffee
Fiddle Faddle: Caramel, Buttery Toffee
Hebrew National: regular franks, reduced fat franks, bologna, lean bologna, salami, lean salami, corned beef, pastrami
Peter Pan Peanut Butter: all varieties
Tablespreads (tubs): Parkay, Blue Bonnet, Fleischmann's and Move Over Butter
Tablespreads (sticks): Parkay Blue Bonnet, Fleischmann’s
La Choy Original Sauce Marinade (4430012068) and La Choy Orange Ginger Sauce Marinade (4430012067)
La Choy Soy Sauce (Regular & Lite)
La Choy Sweet & Sour Sauce
Reddi-Wip: all varieties
David Seeds: all varieties

Below is a list of some of our other products that do not contain added gluten*
Wesson oils: all varieties
Hunt's Tomato Sauces (excludes pasta sauces)
Hunt's Tomato Paste
Ketchup: Hunt's all varieties
Ro*Tel Tomatoes

*These items have been identified as not containing gluten. They are not currently routinely tested to affirm they contain less than 20ppm gluten for a 'gluten-free' claim.

We always advise consumers who may have sensitivities to recheck the ingredient list on each package. Products are oftentimes reformulated, and the ingredients may change. If you have additional questions about your personal dietary needs, please consult your doctor or a registered dietitian.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...