Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

aogusan

Miso And Sri Racha... Gluten Free?

Recommended Posts

I run a restaurant and am in the process of making a gluten-free menu. I"m still new to this gluten free community and am not sure what to look for. Does anybody know if the Vietnamese sauce Sri Racha that is used in spicy tuna rolls is gluten free? I called them but they weren't too helpful. They just assured me that the vinegar used in their product is gluten free (isn't all vinegar gluten free??).

Also, I can't find anything on miso. Is miso gluten free?? I think there is a lot of confusion with soy being a source of gluten but I have a feeling it's a misunderstanding between soy and soy sauce. I know soy sauce contains wheat but is soy a source of gluten as well?

If I can get all this stuff cleared up, I will have a gluten free menu up and running at a very popular restaurant in L.A. and I'm sure it'll make a bunch of people very happy.

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Looks like it depends on the Miso, I would call the company you plan on getting it from and ask what it is made from.

"The ingredients used to produce miso may include any mix of soybeans, barley, rice, buckwheat, millet, rye, wheat, hemp seed, and cycad, among others. Lately, producers in other countries have also begun selling miso made from chickpeas, corn, azuki beans, amaranth, and quinoa. Fermentation time ranges from as little as five days to several years. The wide variety of Japanese miso is difficult to classify, but is commonly done by grain type, color, taste, and background.

mugi (麦): barley

tsubu (粒): whole wheat/barley

genmai (玄米): brown rice

moromi (醪): chunky, healthy (kōji is unblended)

nanban (南蛮): mixed with hot chili pepper for dipping sauce

taima (大麻): hemp seed

sobamugi (蕎麦): buckwheat

hadakamugi (裸麦): rye

nari (蘇鉄): made from cycad pulp, Buddhist temple diet

gokoku (五穀): "5 grain": soy, wheat, barley, proso millet, and foxtail millet

Many regions have their own specific variation on the miso standard. For example, the soybeans used in Sendai miso are much more coarsely mashed than in normal soy miso.

Miso made with rice such as shinshu and shiro are called kome miso."

Soy itself is gluten free but some of us are intolerant to it.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The starter culture for miso can be grown on gluten containing grains. Here is a link that explains the process http://www.southrivermiso.com/store/pg/29-Miso-Tour-Koji-Making-Process.html. You want a miso that is made with kome koji which means that the starter culture is grown on rice. The grains that the culture is grown on are not considered an ingredient so it may not show up on the label. You would need to contact the manufacturer.


Me: GLUTEN-FREE 7/06, multiple food allergies, T2 DIABETES DX 8/08, LADA-Latent Autoimmune Diabetes in Adults, Who knew food allergies could trigger an autoimmune attack on the pancreas?! 1/11 Re-DX T1 DM, pos. DQ2 Celiac gene test 9/11

Son: ADHD '06,

neg. CELIAC PANEL 5/07

ALLERGY: "positive" blood and skin tests to wheat, which triggers his eczema '08

ENTEROLAB testing: elevated Fecal Anti-tissue Transglutaminase IgA Dec. '08

Gluten-free-Feb. '09

other food allergies

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites