Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Turtle

Back To The Coke Debate....

Recommended Posts

After reading the discussion on the board as to whether or not Coke Products are gluten-free or not, I decided to contact my parent's best friends/neighbors b/c Mr. Tom not only works for Coca-Cola but they eat gluten-free. His response was this:

"All coke products are gluten-free in the U.S. However, Some products sold in Japan are not."

I feel pretty confident about the response as Mr. Tom and his wife follow the gluten-free diet right down to Christmas Eve dinner that we share w/ them every year. They have even gone so far as to teach my mom about what she can cook for them and what not to serve, etc. (my mom likes to have them over for dinner often). I was just recently diagnosed, but they have been eating gluten-free for several years now. But hey, how lucky for me to have my mom already go through basic gluten-free training so maybe she'll still cook for me when I come to visit HAHA. Anyhow, I can't imagine his response being incorrect. Does anyone have any other info? I'm sure he'd be willing to look into any concerns we have.


~Turtle~

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Yep coke is gluten free


Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Coke is definitely gluten-free. Many other Coke products are, as well. This is the typical response you'll get from Coca-Cola, though there are modified and less-detailed versions of this:

It is...if you e-mail Coca-Cola they'll send you an e-mail like this:

Thank you for contacting The Coca-Cola Company.

We are able to confirm that Coca-Cola classic, caffeine free Coca-Cola

classic, Coca-Cola C2, Diet Coke, Diet Coke with Lemon, Diet Coke with

Lime, caffeine free Diet Coke, Sprite, Sprite ReMix Berryclear, Diet

Sprite Zero, vanilla Coke, diet vanilla Coke, cherry Coke, Fresca, and

our 100% juice products (without added ingredients) are gluten free.

Additionally, we can tell you that all of our other products meet

Codex's definition of gluten-free, which is less than 200 ppm (0.02%)

gluten. Codex has examined the data and determined that less than 200 ppm

gluten is below the level in which people with celiac disease would

experience adverse reactions. However, at this time the U.S. Food and Drug

Administration does not have a regulatory definition of gluten-free.

We can assure you that the exact amount of gluten in these products is

very low - perhaps even zero. Some minor ingredients in these products

are manufactured from plants that gluten-sensitive people could react

to, so we are unable to state categorically that they are totally

gluten-free even though they may have undetectable levels of gluten in them.

The Codex guideline provides a very low threshold for gluten content

and exposures below this level are not expected to result in damage to

the majority of gluten-sensitive individuals. However, extremely

gluten-sensitive individuals should discuss consumption of these products with

their health care provider.

We hope that this information is helpful. Should you have additional

questions or comments, please visit our website again.

Gisele

Industry and Consumer Affairs

The Coca-Cola Company

So all the listed products are beyond a doubt gluten-free--like, zero gluten. The others meet the Codex standard (that for European gluten-free foods, as the US doesn't have one yet).

Diet coke, etc. are also beyond a doubt gluten-free. It's just products like Fanta that a very careful celiac wouldn't drink, since they're not on that list.

All Pepsi soft drinks are gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

This is simply my opinion. I have no scientific evidence and I am not a doctor.

Until just recently Coke has always said all its products were gluten-free. And except for the occasional root beer, soft drinks are just about universally gluten-free. I suspect that the flavors Coke won't absolutely say are gluten-free are flavors that have ingredients Coke doesn't have complete control over or that are made in facility that has gluten, although probably not on the same line. You can tell from their statement that ALL flavors are supposed to be gluten-free and almost certainly are gluten-free, but some lawyer has told them to CYA just in case.

Once again, this is my opinion based on my experience and reading between the lines.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

richard,

I think that is most likely what is going on. They don't want to get in trouble since they aren't 100% sure on some of the sources of their ingredients so they won't say it is for sure gluten free.


Carrie Faith

Diagnosed with Celiac Disease in March 2004

Postitive tTg Blood Test, December 2003

Positive Biopsy, March 3, 2004

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

richard,

I think that is most likely what is going on. They don't want to get in trouble since they aren't 100% sure on some of the sources of their ingredients so they won't say it is for sure gluten free.

Absolutely...I concur.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Guest nini

just be careful with generic or store brand soda's. I had a pretty severe reaction after drinking a generic type soda from Dollar General.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Guest nini

awww come on, it was in the beginning of learning the gluten-free diet and I assumed that all sodas were gluten-free!

but seriously, I've found gluten-free soy sauce at Dollar General, even though I didn't buy it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

There's Modified food starch in Kirkland brand orange soda. Kirkland is from the Costco store. I called them about this a few months ago and they were very nice, said they wanted to triple check, called me back the following day and assured me that even though there was modified food starch in the orange soda, it was still gluten free.

I thought modified food starch == gluten. I won't let my son drink it because I'm uncomfortable with the answer I got. Is modified food starch gluten?? I also saw modified food starch in an "Energy" type drink I got my older son and his friends for a trip to go rock climbing. My Celiac kid was going for a sip because he heard it had caffeine in it and he wanted to get "crazy "... I didn't let him have any. Is modified food starch ok in drinks?


I believe in God.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I thought all "modified food starch" meant gluten. I've just flat out had that one line of thinking for 4 years. So, each and every time I see Modified food starch, it could be Gluten Free?? Is this true?

Sorry if I seem dense. I'm still recovering from the whole "Fruity Pebbles is gluten free" incident.


I believe in God.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I have read that, in the US, modified food starch is almost always made with corn and therefore ok. This was from the gluten-free bible, I think. It the modified flour, or whatever they call it, that is not ok.


Blood work positive

Dx with IBS 5 years ago

Dx with Celiac and gluten-free since 6/17/05

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I have read that, in the US, modified food starch is almost always made with corn and therefore ok. This was from the gluten-free bible, I think. It the modified flour, or whatever they call it, that is not ok.

modified food starch can be questionable..most of the time it is ok but most doesn't cut it and therefore it must be checked on.

The gluten free bible has a lot of inaccuracies...they say certain things are not gluten free that are and vice versa...the book really is bad for new people to the diet

I have run into quite a few things that had gluten in the modified food starch.


Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Well, once again a whole new world of gluten-free awaits my son. In less than a week I've learned that Fruity Pebbles are gluten-free, Cocoa Pebbles are gluten-free, and all of those foods with Modified Food Starch **may be gluten free. Do you realize how many food doors were just opened!! I feel like a 'virgin' all over again. I'm going shopping!


I believe in God.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Well, once again a whole new world of gluten-free awaits my son. In less than a week I've learned that Fruity Pebbles are gluten-free, Cocoa Pebbles are gluten-free, and all of those foods with Modified Food Starch **may be gluten free. Do you realize how many food doors were just opened!! I feel like a 'virgin' all over again. I'm going shopping!

:lol::lol:


- Vincent -

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter


  • Celiac.com Sponsors (A19):


  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      91,781
    • Most Online
      6,255

    Newest Member
    Cornerstone Family
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      115,442
    • Total Posts
      968,730

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):


  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):


  • Blog Entries