Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SaraKat

Is Clear Sambuca Romana gluten-free?

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Hard liquor is distilled away from the grain mash used to make it, so it has no detectable gluten. The flavorings in Sambuca would also be naturally gluten-free. All distilled spirits and vinegars are considered safe for celiacs. You may run across outdated information that says otherwise, as in the past celiacs were advised to avoid grain alcohols and vinegars.

The one thing I'll add is a few super-sensitive folks on this board do find they can't tolerate grain alcohols or vinegars. It's very unusual, but if you ever think you might be reacting to something distilled, you're not crazy or totally alone. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks! I had some this weekend and totally forgot that it might not be gluten-free. I just started the diet last week and really didn't have GI symptoms to begin with so I couldn't tell by drinking it. That was the only questionable thing I've had so far (to my knowledge)!


Positive TTG IGA blood test 8/13/10

Endoscopy confirmed 8/31/10

Started gluten-free diet 9/1/10

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites