Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Syl

Multivitamin For Celiacs & Seeking Advice

Hello all! I am new to the Celiacs.com forums, but have been using this wonderful website for a bit now for all sorts of useful information about celiacs disease. I suppose a little information about my particular case would be helpful huh? I was diagnosed with Celiacs disease at the end of June of this year after suffering symptoms of it for about a year and a half. My most troubling symptom has been extreme fatigue which was been very trying and I was very excited to finally have an idea as to what was going on. I've been gluten free since the end of June now, a bit over 2 months. After taking the six week gluten free challenge I had an ELISA food allergy test done and discovered I have an allergy to Dairy, Soy, Citrus, and Nuts as well which may have been the reason I haven't noticed any changes. Also, I currently take Kirkman Pro-bio defense (healthy bacteria) and WAS taking Biogenesis Intestinal Repair Capsules until I found out Soy was used in it.

My point for all this is that malabsorbtion was thought to be a large reason for my fatigue and has caused some serious hunger issues for me. I have done a lot of research on the matter and a consensus seems to be the body is crying out for nutrition. I eat A LOT of produce now but can never seem to get enough food sometimes. I am seeking a multi vitamin that is not only gluten free, but doesn't have hidden ingredients that would trigger my other allergies so that I may have a better chance at fighting this. I purchased Trader Joe's Multi Vitamin & Mineral Antioxidant today as it had no questionable ingredients on the label and was stated to be gluten free, but I'm still paranoid :[ I've only taken it once but it made me a bit nauseous.