Jump to content
  • Sign Up
4 4
celiacmom2

Hills Bros. Cappuccino Flavors

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I have recently noticed in the store that the Hills Bros. Cappuccino flavors no longer have gluten free listed on the front of their packages. Anyone know if they still are safe(gluten free) to drink?

Its been awhile since I bought one and the one on my shelf at home says "gluten free" on the front.

  • Upvote 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After taking about a year off from drinking the mix I just started drinking it again last week. I noticed "gluten" symptoms....headache, stomach problems, moody....and was googling if it was gluten free and your question came up. I think they changed the formula and it is no longer gluenn free!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It may only be the French Vanilla that is gluten free now. I had double mocha and English toffee.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just did the same exact thing that BGG did. I've loved this drink for years, but after not having it for a while, I got some on the weekend and was drinking it yesterday and today at work. Today I had *ahem* stomach issues after finishing one cup, and got increasingly more spacey/dizzy/headachy by the hour after that. I suspect that the maltodextrin listed in the ingredients is now wheat derived. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the USA Maltodextrin is made from corn and it gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Scott Adams said:

Maltodextrin is made from corn and it gluten-free.

From Wikipedia:

"Maltodextrin can be enzymatically derived from any starch. In the US, this starch is usually corn; in Europe, it is common to use wheat. In the European Union, wheat-derived maltodextrin is exempt from labeling, as set out in Annex II of EC Directive No 1169/2011."

 

I have reacted to wheat derived maltodextrin before, and I've even seen 'Maltodextrin (wheat) on labels, even on things produced in the US.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, maltodextrin can be derived from wheat, but in the US, that must be disclosed e.g. maltodextrin (wheat).  Check the actual product label.  Confirm with the manufacturer if this product is manufactured on a shared line with gluten containing items.  

https://www.glutenfreeliving.com/gluten-free-foods/ingredients/top-10-ingredients-you-really-dont-need-to-worry-about/

http://www.celiac.ca/b/?wp_super_faq=is-maltodextrin-gluten-free

That said, this stuff has all kinds of preservatives and additives.  You could be reacting to those.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
4 4

×