This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Maltodextrin/good Or Bad?

Babs83

Babs83 Rookie

I'm new to this chat thing and Celiac. My brother was diagnosed about 17 years ago and has been gluten free since. Once got into some wheat flour and went into shock. He says that Maltodextrin contains gluten, but the websites I've read says it is safe. I have been fighting Migraines for about 8 years, been everywhere - doctors say I'm stressed! Been on all kinds of antidepressants. I've been sticking to the gluten free diet for about 2 and a half weeks, starting to feel better. Had a migraine last week, must have eaten something - licked an envelope!

Is Maltodextrin bad? How about Velveeta Cheese or Cheese Whiz? Oh, and he says Distilled Vinegar is a no-no also!

Barb

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Not sure where he got his info...things may have changed since he was diagnosed...he may want to look on this site to get updated. He is probably missing out on so many wonderful foods.

Maltodextrin in food made in the US is ok for us unless otherwise stated. All companies MUST put on their label if it is not derived from corn. For medications that is different and you must call about the source but in food it is ok for us unless stated otherwise.

Velveeta cheese is a Kraft brand. Kraft, along with some other companies, have a policy that they will not hide anything on labels. They will cleary put wheat,rye,barley,oats right on the label if it contains any.

Distilled vinegar is ok because the gluten can not make it through the distillation process.

• 4 weeks later...