Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

daizednconphused

Celiac With No Symptoms?

Hi, I'm new here and totally confused so I thought someone here could enlighten me. I've been raising my Autistic grandson for 18 years and he's never had any kind of digestive problems. Very healthy, but autistic , intellectually challenged and has ADHD. Last summer he started losing weight (he had always been a kid that had to wear "husky" clothes.) I took him to the Doctor and she ran some tests and the results were that he had Celiac disease. We were sent to a gastroenterologist to have the surgical test done, but when my grandson heard the words "cut" pertaining to his stomach he said "NO" and since he had just turned 18 years old there was nothing we could do to force him to have the test. A day or two later the GI called and said she had gone over the results of his blood work and decided that it was not even necessary to have the test because his blood work was "off the charts' and he definitely had Celiac.

We've been gluten-free since then, I hope. I have changed everything I can think of from toothpaste, laundry soap, deoderant, shampoo, noodles, bread and on and on and on to make sure he is gluten free, but how do we tell? If he never had any symptoms to begin with. I see no changes in anything since we went gluten-free.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):