Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Scott Burkee

Honeybaked Hams

Recommended Posts

Does anyone have any experience with "HoneyBaked Ham" being 100% gluten free, I have read their press and it says they are. Being as they claimed to be gluten free I told my mother-in-law go a head and get it for Christmas diner. However since having eaten the ham, I got all the classic signs of having celiac attacks. As a test yesterday I had some of the ham by itself and sure enough spent my evening on the toilet

Anyone else this year have issues with them?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


We got it and I have been eatingi it for days. :) Maybe something else about it is bothering you? My hub cut ours on our gluten-free cutting board, gluten-free bowls, etc. No gluten bread or anything around it cause " Hell hath no fury like Mom if she can't eat the leftover ham!" ;)


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called my local Honey Baked ham shop and they told me that it WAS NOT gluten free. Seems that the individual owners must use different recipes for the glaze, because I too have read that they are supposed to be gluten free. Bummer.


K Wylee

Gluten Intolerant, Positive test, June 2010

Casein sensitivity, Positive test, June 2010

Reactive to soy, most processed foods & preservatives, June 2010

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As a chef by trade, I am a bit more aware of cross contamination so I helped prepare the diner and control the ham cutting, so I do not believe that it was from cross contamination. As I am highly allergic to gluten both ingested, topical and airborne, I keep my kitchen completely gluten free.

As for the stores getting to decide then they need to be aware of what they are using and when asked if gluten free tell customers honestly and not follow company policy which says they are gluten free. Cause we called the store first were told it was gluten free, and my mother-in-law asked the same when she picked it up.

My money is on either the MALTODEXTRIN, FOOD STARCH-MODIFIED, in the glaze which based on source is wheat or corn

Guess next year I will make the ham, and get to enjoy my Christmas time off instead of being ill

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As a chef by trade, I am a bit more aware of cross contamination so I helped prepare the diner and control the ham cutting, so I do not believe that it was from cross contamination. As I am highly allergic to gluten both ingested, topical and airborne, I keep my kitchen completely gluten free.

As for the stores getting to decide then they need to be aware of what they are using and when asked if gluten free tell customers honestly and not follow company policy which says they are gluten free. Cause we called the store first were told it was gluten free, and my mother-in-law asked the same when she picked it up.

My money is on either the MALTODEXTRIN, FOOD STARCH-MODIFIED, in the glaze which based on source is wheat or corn

Guess next year I will make the ham, and get to enjoy my Christmas time off instead of being ill

If you are in the US, Maltodextrin is derived from corn and if there is wheat in the Food Starch-Modified, it by law, must be listed, as in "Modified Food Starch (wheat)".

Honey Baked Spiral Hams (trademark), indeed, do not contain gluten ingredients, even in the honey glaze. ***The glaze DID contain gluten several years ago, but it no longer does. That was a great day! I love the stuff.

Most claims cannot make a 100% guarantee...unless you're eating a banana that you grew, picked and peeled yourself.

http://allergenfreeplease.blogspot.com/2009/12/honeybaked-ham.html

Ingredients in the glaze: THE GLAZE HAS SUGAR, GELATIN, PAPRIKA (COLOR), MALTODEXTRIN, FOOD STARCH-MODIFIED, DEXTROSE, SPICES, NATURAL FLAVOR [WITH BROWN SUGAR, INVERT SUGAR], NATURAL FLAVORING.

Ingredients in the ham: THE HAM IS CURED WITH WATER, SALT, SUGAR, SODIUM LACTATE, SODIUM PHOSPHATE, SODIUM DIACETATE, SODIUM ERYTHORBATE, SODIUM NITRITE.

Statement from Honeybaked Ham: our hams our free of the common allergens: dairy, soy, gluten and nuts


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone have any experience with "HoneyBaked Ham" being 100% gluten free, I have read their press and it says they are. Being as they claimed to be gluten free I told my mother-in-law go a head and get it for Christmas diner. However since having eaten the ham, I got all the classic signs of having celiac attacks. As a test yesterday I had some of the ham by itself and sure enough spent my evening on the toilet

Anyone else this year have issues with them?

I can tell you that there is no gluten in the HoneyBaked Ham or the turkey breast. All of our locations use the same signature glaze. There are a few other companies that sell a similar product, and alot of people think it is all 'HoneyBaked Ham' because it is spiral sliced and has a honey glaze on it. I do not know what these other companies use or if it is gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called my local Honey Baked ham shop and they told me that it WAS NOT gluten free. Seems that the individual owners must use different recipes for the glaze, because I too have read that they are supposed to be gluten free. Bummer.

I'm curious what city and state the store you called was in. If it was a HoneyBaked store, then yes...the ham is gluten free. You were given the wrong information.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Would the modified starch be corn??? That's what I'm thinking. I have terrible reactions to any type of corn. I did not eat ham this year because I could not find one that did not have some type of corn in it. Even hard candy, salad dressings etc make my sides hurt and I bloat!


How far you go in life depends on your being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant of the weak and strong. Because someday in your life you will have been all of these.

George Washington Carver

Blood work positive 4/10

Endo biopsy positive 5/10

Gluten free 5/10

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can tell you that there is no gluten in the HoneyBaked Ham or the turkey breast. All of our locations use the same signature glaze. There are a few other companies that sell a similar product, and alot of people think it is all 'HoneyBaked Ham' because it is spiral sliced and has a honey glaze on it. I do not know what these other companies use or if it is gluten free.

Thanks HAMMY! (LOVE YOUR NAME) ;)


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called my local Honey Baked ham shop and they told me that it WAS NOT gluten free. Seems that the individual owners must use different recipes for the glaze, because I too have read that they are supposed to be gluten free. Bummer.

This is simply not true. This is either not the real Honey Baked Ham or you were given wrong info.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm curious what city and state the store you called was in. If it was a HoneyBaked store, then yes...the ham is gluten free. You were given the wrong information.

Yes, definitely a HoneyBaked Ham store, in Covington, LA. I wanted to get one for Thanksgiving but the girl who answered the phone put me on hold to double check and came back and said that I shouldn't eat it because it contains gluten.

I was so bummed but obviously didn't order based on that info. After reading these posts yesterday, I called the same place and this time spoke to a gentleman who said that the glaze and ham are gluten free. He apologized for whomever was working there at the time and the info given.

Thinking now, I didn't ask him about casein or soy but not sure why those ingredients would be included, I'll have to call back. I also don't do well with nitrites, etc., but that's just crap that makes me feel tired, not dizzy, so I'm willing to eat it once a year. The ham's very rich, perhaps it overwhelms some systems.


K Wylee

Gluten Intolerant, Positive test, June 2010

Casein sensitivity, Positive test, June 2010

Reactive to soy, most processed foods & preservatives, June 2010

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I sent a question via the HoneyBaked Ham website yesterday and received a reply today that was less than conclusive and now, based on the original poster's trouble, has me wondering. This was the response when I asked if it was possible if the Covington, LA, store could be using a different glaze prep or some other method that would alter the gluten free status that the website advises. This was the simple response:

There are 4 divisions. The ham from our division Honeybaked ham of the east is gluten free

Sharon

HoneyBaked Ham Co.

1-800-343-4267

If there are 4 divisions, then I assume I am in the South and that is not within the scope of her reply. If I try a small taste of the Covington store's ham and it contains gluten, I will know within minutes, and be dizzy for about an hour and then be OK. But if I were someone who experiences severe symptoms from such an ingestion, I could not, in good conscience, urge someone to try this based on anyone else's experience.

Am I mistaken, or was one of the responses here from someone from the actual ham company? If you excuse the pun, I'm going to be a guinea pig and taste the ham on New Years day. If I get dizzy, it's no fault but my own, but I'll let all know, at least about the Covington, LA, store.


K Wylee

Gluten Intolerant, Positive test, June 2010

Casein sensitivity, Positive test, June 2010

Reactive to soy, most processed foods & preservatives, June 2010

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

TIf you excuse the pun, I'm going to be a guinea pig and taste the ham on New Years day. If I get dizzy, it's no fault but my own, but I'll let all know, at least about the Covington, LA, store.

It sounds like potentially getting "dizzy" might be a response to another ingredient, not gluten.

Honey (excuse the pun, lol), the hams are without gluten. But there might be something else that you might be reacting too. ;)


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It sounds like potentially getting "dizzy" might be a response to another ingredient, not gluten.

Honey (excuse the pun, lol), the hams are without gluten. But there might be something else that you might be reacting too. ;)

I think you misunderstand; I haven't tried it yet (since being gluten free) but totally agree that it could be something else that made the original poster feel so badly, like cross contamination, OR I haven't called them back to see if there could somehow be casein or soy in it, hope not.

Anyway, I get a certain kind of feeling when I ingest gluten, casein or soy. That's the dizzy I'm talking about, and I know the feeling well. Preservatives and additives make my system tired but not that "out of my body" feeling I've come to know so well. That's one upside of having gluten intolerance; it really made me listen to my body so acutely.


K Wylee

Gluten Intolerant, Positive test, June 2010

Casein sensitivity, Positive test, June 2010

Reactive to soy, most processed foods & preservatives, June 2010

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, I can add something else to the list of things I can eat that do not make me dizzy!!! Over the course of two days, I ingested about 8 oz of HoneyBaked Ham and all I got was the obligatory tired feeling I get whenever I eat too much of stuff I can't pronouce, like sodium blah blah blah!

But addressing the initial poster in this thread who unfortunately became ill from something suspected in the ham, this is a firm testament that everyone's system is different, and sometimes the acid test may not be a question of gluten, but anything in it that offends the system and makes you feel (just?) as badly. I hope you can pinpoint what that ingredient is.


K Wylee

Gluten Intolerant, Positive test, June 2010

Casein sensitivity, Positive test, June 2010

Reactive to soy, most processed foods & preservatives, June 2010

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites