shezatrip

Tiny Amounts Of Gluten

Rate this topic

Hi All,

I was just wondering what your reaction is micro amounts of gluten.

For instance a piece of non gluten food that has touched a glutened food.

Or a cutting board, that has had bread sitting on it?

I have read that people go to these extremes, and I am still learning.

Do you really feel a huge reaction to such tiny amounts? For instance,

a tiny grain off a cracker?

If so, what is your immediate reaction to a microscopic amount of gluten?

can you tell, and what happens?

Thx, just curious :-)

Ads by Google:
Ads by Google:

Hi All,

For instance a piece of non gluten food that has touched a glutened food.

Or a cutting board, that has had bread sitting on it?

I have read that people go to these extremes, and I am still learning.

Do you really feel a huge reaction to such tiny amounts? For instance,

a tiny grain off a cracker?

I do anyway, can't speak for others, here's an example.

My local supermarket were sampling smoked salmon and brown regular soda bread.

My neighbour tried some and thought it was lovely, the lady sampling asked would I like to try some, I told here I was a Coeliac and couldn't eat gluten bread.

She said my friends daughter is a Coeliac and I know she can have salmon why not just try the salmon.

It looked good so I said ok, she cut me a big piece, lifted it up on the knife for me to take.

I popped it in my mouth an ate it, it was then that I noticed it was the same knife she spread the bread with.

I thought to myself can't do much harm ..... Boy was I wrong .... 6 hours later I had severe cramping, Vomiting and Diarrhoea that lasted 4 days.

Never made that mistake again, all gluten-free foods should be seperate or individually wrapped, I'm like a hawk when there's a possibility of cross-contamination.

I got rid of cutting boards, wooden and plastic utensils in my house.

Now my house is totally gluten-free, I won't let anything containing Gluten inside the door.