Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi everyone, I have a girl recently diagnosed and is wondering is gluten in everything !! What about candy, is something okey, I live in a place where its not easy to get special glutein free products and this is all so new to me

thanx

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanx for this list !! Im trying to get a grip on all this, what about snack, popcorn is okey but what about other snacks, I know, Im not asking about healthy stuff but this is what she is most worried about :unsure:

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A lot of companies have good lists on their websites. Kettle chips has some gluten-free, I am not sure if all of the flavors are. Jello is gluten-free, Frito-lay has lists on their website. Some Hormel products are labeled gluten-free. We like Blue Diamond Nut Thins, Fruit Roll Ups and freeze dried apples, I find those at wal-mart in the dried fruit section.

This website is good too.

http://liveglutenfreely.com/products/default.aspx

Tell us some things that she likes and we can come up with some more ideas.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i was sad to give up my beloved Lindor truffles (they have barley malt). but that's ok...

my go to candy is Almond M&Ms :P i always sneak some in to the movie theater with me (cause i cant tolerate peanuts).

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Milky Way DARK are one of my favorites. The regular are not safe. I got 2 this afternoon, one for today and one for tomorrow. I have to admit I ate them both in one sitting. :ph34r:

  • Upvote 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Snacks made by major manufacturers that you can find Gluten Free at a regular grocer (but you always have to check): popcorn, applesauce, fruit cups, potato chips - (I know Lay's Barbecue and Pringles are not okay as of my last visit; we generally eat Cape Cod and Kettle Chips), tortilla chips (Multigrain are most definitely problematic), Fruit Roll ups, Fritos, Cheetos (I'm almost sure this one is okay), Potato Sticks, certain yogurt, Vanilla, Chocolate, and Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream, jello, nuts, frozen fruit bars, marshmellows and rice cakes come to mind. However, you must check the labels as it really varies from manufacturer to manufacturer and product to product. Snyder's came out with a gluten free pretzel that you can get at your regular grocer that are very good. There are a couple of cereals by General Mills that are Gluten Free I believe they are the Rice Chex varieties and they are marked on the front of the box. Betty Crocker has a number of gluten free cake mixes sold in most grocers and Bisquick has a gluten free pancake mix. There is a new nut cracker I think by Blue Diamond that is gluten Free. Also, a bunch of the Asian Rice Crackers are gluten free. Van's makes a gluten free frozen waffle although my family does not like them so we make our own and freeze for use later. All these items I have found in my local grocer, Walmart or Target. At Target this week I noticed they sold Cherrybrook gluten free mixes. At my local Walmart they sell Schar Gluten Free Pasta and some other smaller brand gluten free items.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Milky Way DARK are one of my favorites. The regular are not safe. I got 2 this afternoon, one for today and one for tomorrow. I have to admit I ate them both in one sitting. :ph34r:

I would like to eat one of those, (they sound yummy :) ) but doesn't the soy lecithin bother you?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would like to eat one of those, (they sound yummy :) ) but doesn't the soy lecithin bother you?

is that why- 60% of the time that i snack on Nestle toll house choco chips- i get nauseaus??? is it the soy lecithin? im perplexed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

is that why- 60% of the time that i snack on Nestle toll house choco chips- i get nauseaus??? is it the soy lecithin? im perplexed

I am not sure. I know I have a problem with soy and I noticed raven does too..that's why I wondered if the soy lecithin--ALWAYS in chocolate candy bars--was a problem....?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would like to eat one of those, (they sound yummy :) ) but doesn't the soy lecithin bother you?

I'm okay with the lecithin, the oil, flour or protein are a different story. Some of us can tolerate the lecithin but some of us can't. I am very thankful that I am one who can.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Reeses Peanut Butter Cups!! I eat them all the time ^.^

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×