Jump to content
  • Sign Up
1 1
GFreeMO

Yeast Extract

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I am wondering what exactly yeast extract is. I made some soup using Progresso Chicken Broth. It is labeled gluten free. I am wondering however about the yeast extract. I have read that it is made from barley. Is this correct and if so, how can this product be gluten free.

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeast extract, like MSG, often contains free glutamic acid. I avoid autolyzed yeast, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, & MSG. Not because they contain gluten, but because of the free glutamic acid. MSG can make you feel ill too, if you are sensitive to it. I can tell the difference anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know exactly what yeast extract is but I do know Progresso chicken broth is safe and I use it all the time (as well as their beef broth). I do trust General Mills with their labeling.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I trust General Mills as well. I use the Progresso Broths all the time and I really love the Chicken Corn Chowder soup. I was just wondering what yeast extract is b/c I have read that it's made from barley. Theirs must not be or I would be sick right now. Anyone know what yeast extract is and where it comes from?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I trust General Mills as well. I use the Progresso Broths all the time and I really love the Chicken Corn Chowder soup. I was just wondering what yeast extract is b/c I have read that it's made from barley. Theirs must not be or I would be sick right now. Anyone know what yeast extract is and where it comes from?

I googled it and came up with a couple of links. Actually it's not something we'd add in a hundred years if we cooked totally from scratch. I checked and it's also in the Pacific Foods gluten-free beef broth I bought today.

http://en.wikipedia....i/Yeast_extract

http://www.livestron...-yeast-extract/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Although barley can be used in the process to create yeast extract, the amount of barley prolamin (avenin) is less than one part per million in the result. When the percentage of the product that is represented by the yeast extract is considered, the final product contains at most a few parts per billion of avenin--far, far below detectable levels. Yeast extract, and autolyzed yeast, are not things that I worry about.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks everyone for the info. My chicken and rice casserole would not be the same without Progresso broth.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Has anyone evet tried Progresso's French Onion Soup, it says Gluten Free, but I was just wondering if there was any bad experences. Thanks!

Yes, I've used it without any problems.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use the cram of mushroom in recipes with no problems. yummy!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Although barley can be used in the process to create yeast extract, the amount of barley prolamin (avenin) is less than one part per million in the result. When the percentage of the product that is represented by the yeast extract is considered, the final product contains at most a few parts per billion of avenin--far, far below detectable levels. Yeast extract, and autolyzed yeast, are not things that I worry about.

Hi Peter,

 

Is this still your position? I see it matches what the University of Chicago says here:

http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/?s=yeast+extract&post_type=faq&submit=Search

 

but this dietician makes a strong case for "maybe" because it depends on the source of the yeast and recommends checking with the manufacturer to be sure:

http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/update-on-gluten-free-status-of-yeast-extract/

 

Thanks for the great site,

Rick

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi, Rick, and welcome to the forum.
 
My position on this question has not changed.
 
The dietitian you reference has limited credibility in my books because of over-the-top claims like this one. The numbers cited are from Marmite, a product known to be made from spent yeast from the brewing process ("brewers yeast"). We know that isn't safe for us. Further, in Marmite, the yeast extract is not an incidental ingredient, it is the main ingredient.
 
Despite it not being required by FALCPA, most manufacturers in the US voluntarily label any gluten source, including barley. That list includes (among others) Campbell's, Con Agra, General Mills, Hormel, Kraft, Nestle, Unilever, and all their owned brands. As the dietitian noted, in Canada disclosure is mandatory.

So, again, my position remains unchanged.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
1 1

×