Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Mama Melissa

Is Corned Beef Gluten Free?

Recommended Posts

Hey Guys,

This is my first St.Patty Day gluten free,I know im safe with the cabbage and potatos but my question was what kind of corned beef would be gluten free??I have heard cooks brand is but do not know where they are carried .I live in northern nj and i have checked wit my shoprite.I know that corned beef is pickled does that mean they ALL contain gluten??I def need some help PLEASE!!!! ~Melissa~


Melissa

9/10 Diagnosed celiac via bloodwork/endo

9/10 Gluten free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


See this thread from last year:


Neroli

"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"

"Whatever the question, the answer is always chocolate." Nigella Lawson

------------

Caffeine free 1973

Lactose free 1990

(Mis)diagnosed IBS, fibromyalgia '80's and '90's

Diagnosed psoriatic arthritis 2004

Self-diagnosed gluten intolerant, gluten-free Nov. 2007

Soy free March 2008

Nightshade free Feb 2009

Citric acid free June 2009

Potato starch free July 2009

(Totally) corn free Nov. 2009

Legume free March 2010

Now tolerant of lactose

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Pickled" usually means a brine consisting of some combination of water, salt and vinegar. Unless the vinegar is malt vinegar, no worries. If malt vinegar is used in an FDA product it must be labeled as such. ANY grain derived ingredient in a USDA product must be disclosed. Read the label, but I would be very surprised if you found a corned beef that contained gluten.

There are still a lot of outdated lists in circulation from the days before the current labeling laws (in effect for more than five years), and before we understood (due to better scientific knowledge) that such ingredients as vinegar, maltodextrin, and others were safe.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think Wegmans may be in your area. If they are their corned beef is safe. Even if they are a short drive away shopping there is worth it as they do label all their name brand products that are gluten free.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Has anyone ever tried reddi-gourmet corned beef???Thank you for all your responses i have heard conflicting info on this is the spice package safe to consume as well??


Melissa

9/10 Diagnosed celiac via bloodwork/endo

9/10 Gluten free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also wondered why there might be gluten in deli meat. I was buying some Dietz and Weston meats and they have little tags that indicate any allergens. Very surprised to see all the varieties that had soy and milk ingredients. My fave flavor - brown sugar ham has milk ingredients!


Gluten Intolerance, Colitis, IBS, Lactose and Casein Intolerance, Gastro-Paresis, GERD, Arthritis. Taking Remicade and Asacol, 2 Prilosec/day among other meds. Officially a senior citizen! New knee is doing well.. now about that other knee...

Food is in my dreams and in my nightmares!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Virtually no deli meats that I know of have gluten.

richard

Be sure to check Deli meats. Cheaper brands could have gluten as fillers. I buy Boars Head because they label all their meats and cheese gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites