This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

What Is The Worst That Can Happen?

katiekay

katiekay Explorer

Hi... this is an idiotic sounding post.

What is the worst that can happen if you have celiacs and don't go gluten-free.

I am new to the whole celiacs thing. I suspect that my husband, myself, and my 18 mo. old have celiacs. I know for her it means failure to thrive etc. Horrible stuff for her. For myself I will have no problem going gluten-free even if it's just to support my daughter and husband. My husband, on the other hand, not sure about...

He has decided to get a blood test but even if he gets a positive not sure he will be that strict. We don't have severe reactions like some people I've read about. Stomach troubles, rash, joint pain, trouble concentrating... stuff like that... So if he doesn't go strict at the age of 44 is it a big deal? I mean could he die from it or is it that he just wont ever feel that comfortable health wise??

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

mushroom Proficient