Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Cheryl_C

Confusion About Lay's Stax

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I know someone posted a thread a while back about Lay's updated list - thanks! I was under the impression that ALL Lay's Stax are gluten free. I couldn't find the post here on the forum, but I did look at the Lay's official site... Anyway, can anyone confirm for me that Lay's Stax BBQ are actually gluten free? On the official site I found mesquite bbq and honey bbq but that's not what I'm eating. Arg!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dehydrated potatoes (contain dextrose, mono- and diglycerides, citric acid), sunflower oil, seasoning (sugar, salt, corn maltodextrin, onion powder, monosodium glutamate, corn syrup solids, tomato powder, hydrolyzed corn protein, natural flavours, colour, malic acid, sodium acetate, acetic acid, spices, sodium caseinate, citric acid, disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate, potato startch, rice flour, mono- and diglycerides, sugar, soy lecithin.

I really wish I hadn't read all that ... ew...

Anything here jump out as gluten?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The container that I have in my pantry says gluten free on the label. I stick with the plain b/c the spices bother me. They are gluten free though. :) Othe people in my house eat them and have no problems. The Stax are the only frito lay products that I trust. I have gotten sick from the bagged chips. The Stax are the only chips that I eat. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well...wait a sec. mine are called mesquite bbq...What are yours called?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dehydrated potatoes (contain dextrose, mono- and diglycerides, citric acid), sunflower oil, seasoning (sugar, salt, corn maltodextrin, onion powder, monosodium glutamate, corn syrup solids, tomato powder, hydrolyzed corn protein, natural flavours, colour, malic acid, sodium acetate, acetic acid, spices, sodium caseinate, citric acid, disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate, potato startch, rice flour, mono- and diglycerides, sugar, soy lecithin.

I really wish I hadn't read all that ... ew...

Anything here jump out as gluten?

I think Lays is one of those companies that discloses if there is a gluten ingredient...I might be wrong though. If it were another company I would say that barley *could* be hiding in "natural flavours" but I doubt it. Wait are you in Canada or another non-US country? That may be why the flavor you have was not online if you were looking at the US website.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm in Canada, and looked at both the US website and the Canadian one. It's like these chips just don't exist, except that I'm LOOKING AT THEM on my desk. They just say "Lay's Stax bar-b-q flavour." I'm probably over-thinking things. After all, Lay's Stax are made on gluten-free lines, so wouldn't that mean that the Stax themselves are gluten-free?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah they are made on dedicated lines. Mine say made in Mexico. If yours say that, i'm sure they are from the same place.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm in Canada, and looked at both the US website and the Canadian one. It's like these chips just don't exist, except that I'm LOOKING AT THEM on my desk. They just say "Lay's Stax bar-b-q flavour." I'm probably over-thinking things. After all, Lay's Stax are made on gluten-free lines, so wouldn't that mean that the Stax themselves are gluten-free?

They're a mystery then! Maybe they changed the BBQ name recently and you have an old canister? Is there and expiration date on them anywhere? Is there a contact us phone number on them? You could try calling.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×