Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Guest Selhi

Gluten Free Oatmeal Cookies

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Guest Selhi

Recently I bought OAT MEAL cookies during my trip to USA and they were labelled Gluten free. I am a Orthopedic Surgeon by profession and realised that oat meal cannot be Gluten free but the labelling was gluten free and was bought from a big store, in theorganic food/gluten free section.

It was labelled Gluten free/Egg/Dairy free.

Is it possible or I have been taken for a ride, eating wrong cookies.

Harpal

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, you were not sold a pup. "Gluten Free" oats have been carefully handled and processed so that are not cross-contaminated by other grains. So provided your body can handle oats, you should be perfectly okay eating them. Some of us cannot eat oats of any kind. :) But oats do not contain the same protein as wheat, barley and rye - the one that causes problems for gluten intolerants. However oats are often mentioned in the same breath as wheat, barley and rye because such a large number of celiacs do not tolerate them either (or because most oats are cross-contaminated by gluten).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×