Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I have avoided Clamato since I couldn't figure out for sure if it contained gluten (label lists vinegar - not distilled). I've seen numerous (somewhat older) posts in the forum stating that it is NOT gluten-free. I finally contacted their customer service asking if Clamato contains gluten and this is their response:

Thank you for contacting us about the presence of gluten in our Mott

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FDA regs state that if it just says vinegar on the label then it would be apple cider vinegar. Malt vinegar is not safe but would be listed as such. Distilled vinegar is considered safe for us but a few of us will react to distilled gluten grains.

I have never had Clamato so can't say if it is safe for sure or not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As noted above, the single word "vinegar" as an ingredient in the US is apple cider vinegar, which is usually also distilled. It is gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

WOW! This makes me so happy! Thanks for looking into this. Yesterday I ordered a caesar and was raving about how good it was, while wondering if it was going to affect me today. I feel fine and now I know why, no gluten! If I can't have beer, at least I will be able to have caesars!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Clamato has always been gluten-free.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just FYI though - Worchestershire sauce is *not* gluten free, so if you are having a caeser, you'll need to order it without (or make it at home with a gluten-free Worchestershire sauce -- there is at least one commericially-available).

Enjoy!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just FYI though - Worchestershire sauce is *not* gluten free, so if you are having a caeser, you'll need to order it without (or make it at home with a gluten-free Worchestershire sauce -- there is at least one commericially-available).

Enjoy!

SOME Worcestershire sauce is, some is not. In Canada Lee & Perrins is not gluten free. In the US it is.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gluten is a mixture of complex proteins found in the grain of wheat, barley, oats, rye, rice, corn, and other grains. All of our Mott's sauce and juice products are gluten free.

As a side note, I noticed they also believe rice, corn and 'other' grains contain gluten :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Canada, if you can find it, Hunt's Worcestershire Sauce is gluten-free. You may find it at a Wal-Mart Super Center. Metro's house brand, Selection, lists no ingredients that could be sources of hidden gluten.

In the US, just buy L&P.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My gluten allergies are not as symptomatic as most, so sometimes I can't tell right away if something is affecting me.  However, I drink Clamato almost religiously.  It's one of my favorite drinks, and so far I haven't noticed any adverse effects.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×